The First Time I Saw You (Paperback)
  • The First Time I Saw You (Paperback)
zoom

The First Time I Saw You (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 09/01/2020
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Beautifully observed, tender and genuinely funny' Josie Silver

'Funny, original storytelling, an emotional rollercoaster packed with twists and turns that tugged at all my heartstrings' Holly Miller

'A profoundly affecting, beautifully written story packed with heart and hope' Miranda Dickinson

Lost:
Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin.
Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes.
If found, please return to Sophie Williams.

Sophie Williams has the perfect career and it's all she needs to shut herself off from the rest of the world, and more importantly, the secrets of her past.

Samuel McLaughlin is an open book. He lives for the present and life for him is his big Irish family and his friends.

Against all expectation, Samuel breaks down the walls of Sophie's ordered world and they spend the perfect week together, but when Sophie discovers the terrible truth, she is forced to leave.

But as Samuel begins searching for Sophie, a life-changing event alters how he sees life forever.

And with each passing week, Sophie seems further and further from his reach.

From the author of The Songs of Us (shortlisted for the RNA Contemporary Novel Award) comes a love story that will 'break your heart, but put it back together again' (Katie Fforde). Fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon will love The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper.

'An evocative, warm and character-driven read that is truly memorable' Woman & Home

'A heartwarming, charming novel which had me falling in love and desperate to be part of their happy ending' Olivia Beirne

'A gorgeous heart-breaking rollercoaster of a love story that made me laugh and cry in equal measures' Fiona Harper

'Cooper creates characters that come alive with pathos and heart and humour' Magic Radio

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472265029
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 315 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Beautifully observed, tender and genuinely funny. Readers are going to love it! * Josie Silver *
Funny, original storytelling, an emotional rollercoaster packed with twists and turns that tugged at all my heartstrings
A heartwarming, charming novel which had me falling in love and desperate to be part of their happy ending. -- Olivia Beirne
An evocative, warm and character-driven read that is truly memorable. * Woman & Home *
A profoundly affecting, beautifully written story packed with heart and hope. -- Miranda Dickinson
Sophie and Sam's story was a gorgeous heart-breaking rollercoaster of a love story that made me laugh and cry in equal measures. -- Fiona Harper
Fans of authors Jojo Moves and Lucy Dillon will love this touching read from Emma Cooper. * Hello *
An evocative, warm and character-driven read * Woman *
While this is resolutely a romantic story, the lines of love between friends and family are explored with such depth and delicacy...Cooper creates characters that come alive with pathos and heart and humour. * Magic Radio *
It's a tale to restore your belief in love conquering all... Witty and warm * Peterborough Evening Telegraph *
Praise for THE SONGS OF US:
A warm and touching novel about love and loss, and the healing power of family * Woman and Home *
Poignant and beautifully written * Woman *
[A] sweet, moving debut * Good Housekeeping *
This is a very special book indeed: funny, powerful, heart-wrenching and so poignant. I have laughed and cried and cried . . . it reminded me to hold my family close and tell each of them how much I love them -- Jo Thomas
The Songs of Us is an emotional rollercoaster of a book that made me laugh and cry in equal measures. A tragically beautiful story of love and loss, family and hope. Emma Cooper has been swiftly added to my list of authors to read -- Fiona Harper
Quirky, clever and original, this will break your heart, but put it back together again -- Katie Fforde

You may also be interested in...

Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Because of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A funny, fascinating and different historical novel”

A sudden glimpse of a person across a street can be all it takes to begin a relationship, and for Samuel and Sophie that is all it took. In the middle of the American capital, Samuel spots a woman with a bright green... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Beautiful, bittersweet at times, and an absolute joy to read”

The First Time I Saw You is Emma Cooper's second book, and a more than worthy successor to her debut, The Songs of Us.

Samuel and Sophie meet by chance in Washington, both of them an ocean away from home in... More

“Wonderful heart capturing book!”

What an amazing read. Absolutely loved Emma’s first book, that much that I found it hard to really get into another book. There are so many books I the world that if I’m not enjoying a book I stop reading it.

Emma’s... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.