The First Time I Saw You (Paperback)
  • The First Time I Saw You (Paperback)
zoom

The First Time I Saw You (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 09/01/2020
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Beautifully observed, tender and genuinely funny' Josie Silver

'A profoundly affecting, beautifully written story packed with heart and hope' Miranda Dickinson

Lost:
Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin.
Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes.
If found, please return to Sophie Williams.

Before Sophie met Samuel she saw the world in grey.
Before Samuel met Sophie, he never believed in love at first sight.

When they first meet, something tells them they are meant to be.
But fate has other ideas.

Now they have lost each other and can't see a way back.
But they've already changed each other's lives in more ways
than they ever expected...

From the author of The Songs of Us (shortlisted for the RNA Contemporary Novel Award) comes a love story that will 'break your heart, but put it back together again' (Katie Fforde). Fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon will love The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper.

'An evocative, warm and character-driven read that is truly memorable' Woman & Home

'A heartwarming, charming novel which had me falling in love and desperate to be part of their happy ending' Olivia Beirne

'A gorgeous heart-breaking rollercoaster of a love story that made me laugh and cry in equal measures' Fiona Harper

'Cooper creates characters that come alive with pathos and heart and humour' Magic Radio

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472265029
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 315 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Beautifully observed, tender and genuinely funny. Readers are going to love it! * Josie Silver *
A heartwarming, charming novel which had me falling in love and desperate to be part of their happy ending. -- Olivia Beirne
An evocative, warm and character-driven read that is truly memorable. * Woman & Home *
A profoundly affecting, beautifully written story packed with heart and hope. -- Miranda Dickinson
Sophie and Sam's story was a gorgeous heart-breaking rollercoaster of a love story that made me laugh and cry in equal measures. -- Fiona Harper
Fans of authors Jojo Moves and Lucy Dillon will love this touching read from Emma Cooper. * Hello *
An evocative, warm and character-driven read * Woman *
While this is resolutely a romantic story, the lines of love between friends and family are explored with such depth and delicacy...Cooper creates characters that come alive with pathos and heart and humour. * Magic Radio *
It's a tale to restore your belief in love conquering all... Witty and warm * Peterborough Evening Telegraph *
Praise for THE SONGS OF US:
A warm and touching novel about love and loss, and the healing power of family * Woman and Home *
Poignant and beautifully written * Woman *
[A] sweet, moving debut * Good Housekeeping *
This is a very special book indeed: funny, powerful, heart-wrenching and so poignant. I have laughed and cried and cried . . . it reminded me to hold my family close and tell each of them how much I love them -- Jo Thomas
The Songs of Us is an emotional rollercoaster of a book that made me laugh and cry in equal measures. A tragically beautiful story of love and loss, family and hope. Emma Cooper has been swiftly added to my list of authors to read -- Fiona Harper
Quirky, clever and original, this will break your heart, but put it back together again -- Katie Fforde
Local Author Emma Cooper Book Signing

Local Author Emma Cooper Book Signing

Telford
Saturday 25th January 11:00 - 13:00

Join best selling local author Emma Cooper in store on Saturday 25th January from 11am-1pm to sign copies of her books - the new release The First Time I Saw You and her debut novel The Songs of Us. Don't miss this fantastic opportunity to meet the author and have your books signed!

View

You may also be interested in...

Secret Service
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Love Child
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Rosie Result
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The House by the Loch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Familiars
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Such a Fun Age
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback

“Beautiful, bittersweet at times, and an absolute joy to read”

The First Time I Saw You is Emma Cooper's second book, and a more than worthy successor to her debut, The Songs of Us.

Samuel and Sophie meet by chance in Washington, both of them an ocean away from home in... More

“Wonderful heart capturing book!”

What an amazing read. Absolutely loved Emma’s first book, that much that I found it hard to really get into another book. There are so many books I the world that if I’m not enjoying a book I stop reading it.

Emma’s... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A funny, fascinating and different historical novel”

A sudden glimpse of a person across a street can be all it takes to begin a relationship, and for Samuel and Sophie that is all it took. In the middle of the American capital, Samuel spots a woman with a bright green... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.