Do Not Feed the Bear (Paperback)
  • Do Not Feed the Bear (Paperback)
zoom

Do Not Feed the Bear (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 30/04/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Beguiling and astute' Sarah Winman 'Astoundingly good' Deborah Moggach

'Wonderfully redemptive' Sarah Haywood 'I was delighted and surprised by this textured, fascinating and most moving book' Chris Ware

A life-affirming novel about broken but loving families, people making mistakes but doing their best, grief and getting stuck - for readers of ELEANOR OLIPHANT and THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP

On her forty-seventh birthday, Sydney Smith stands on a rooftop and prepares to jump...


Sydney is a cartoonist and freerunner. Feet constantly twitching, always teetering on the edge of life, she's never come to terms with the event that ripped her family apart when she was ten years old. And so, on a birthday that she doesn't want to celebrate, she returns alone to St Ives to face up to her guilt and grief. It's a trip that turns out to be life-changing - and not only for herself.

DO NOT FEED THE BEAR is a book about lives not yet lived, about the kindness of others and about how, when our worlds stop, we find a way to keep on moving.

Readers love Do Not Feed the Bear:

'I loved each and every moment of this book and feel bereft it has come to an end'

'Obsessed with how beautiful this book is! Keep flicking back to reread some passages as love them so much! What a treat of a book'

'Wow, what a joyous and hope-inducing read'

'I can't put it down - it's funny and tender and clever and I love it'

'It might break your heart a little bit first, but eventually it will put it back together and wrap it in a comforting snuggly blanket'

'Rich in poignant emotion and a truly mesmerising and addictive read'

'Swept me up into its pages; a book that I wanted to hug and cherish all the time I was reading'

'It's not just a book I read and reviewed. It's a book that read and reviewed me'

'If you're looking for a story that will make you smile by turns, be heart-lifting and heart-wrenching in a variety of ways but remain entirely beautiful for its honest look at life, then this is the book for you'

'Surprising, authentic and powerful, this book defies categorisation'

'Rachel Elliott has achieved something remarkable in this story of loss, regret and disappointment: she has created a tender, hopeful and uplifting novel, which I feel certain many readers will fall in love with'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472259424
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 259 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Utterly uplifting and a warm reminder that people are here to help * Stylist *
[An] ingenious, funny novel... Sad, wise and upbeat by turns' * Daily Mail *
A perfect read for fans of ELEANOR OLIPHANT and THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP * Woman's Way *
I was delighted and surprised by this textured, fascinating and most moving book * Chris Ware *
Rachel Elliott is such a beguiling and astute storyteller * Sarah Winman *
An astonishingly good novel about grief and its shadowy partner, guilt. Mysterious, uplifting, and often very funny, it had me totally gripped from start to finish * Deborah Moggach *
Beautifully written, Elliott's unique, mesmerising voice effortlessly draws you in * Woman & Home *
A moving and gently humorous portrait of loss, grief and finding a way through...Wonderfully redemptive -- Sarah Haywood, author of THE CACTUS
There is love and pain and such humour. The author is a psychotherapist with the key to the human heart * Saga *
A slow-burn, quirky, rewarding story about a group of bereft people (and dogs) who find each other in unexpected ways * Julie Cohen *
A beautifully poignant tale about loss, love, compassion, and being kind to people whose stories and struggles - in the past and present - are overlooked * Culturefly *
An uplifting and heart-warming tale about love, loss and moving on, and the importance of being kind to each other - and ourselves * Heat *
I was delighted and surprised by this textured, fascinating and most moving book * Chris Ware *

You may also be interested in...

The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Fortune Men
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“An unusual book of free running and relationships”

This is a book of people with their own agendas. People who have experienced a moment when everything changed; either years before or during the book itself. Sydney is perhaps the point around which others exist, a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Sad yet uplifting”

I heard the author read from this book as part of an Off The Shelf event in Sheffield.
The novel is written as a multiple narrative and with minimal punctuation. I'm not sure if this style was intended to reflect... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Jane Skudder

“Running free...”

Sydney Smith’s family were creatures of habit who holidayed every year in St Ives (progressing from caravans to, gasp, a holiday cottage when Sidney was ten) but that all changed after a terrible tragedy. Now Sidney... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.