Kindred (Paperback)
  • Kindred (Paperback)
zoom

Kindred (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

An intellectually and emotionally profound meditation on the prejudices of the past and the ambiguous march of progress, Butler’s stunning time-travel narrative sees a Black woman thrown through points in history where her very presence could sign her death warrant. Skilfully utilising the tropes of science fiction to tell a politically and morally absorbing story, Kindred haunts and questions on every page. 

Octavia E. Butler's 1979 masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayobami Adebayo.

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' - New York Times

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.

When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowning. She saves his life - and it will happen again and again.

Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them.

And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it's even begun.

Octavia E. Butler's ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472258229
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 226 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Butler's prose, always pared back to the bone, delineates the painful paradoxes of metamorphosis with compelling precision' - Guardian

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' - New York Times 

'No novel I've read this year has felt as relevant, as gut-wrenching or as essential... If you've ever tweeted #AllLivesMatter, someone needs to shove Kindred into your hand, and quickly' - The Pool 

'Kindred is that rare magical artifact . . . the novel one returns to, again and again' - Harlan Ellison

'One of the most original, thought-provoking works examining race and identity.' - Los Angeles Times 

You may also be interested in...

The Mask Falling
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Last Hours: Chain of Iron
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
The Testaments
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
£17.99   £15.99
Hardback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Starve Acre
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
The Galaxy, and the Ground Within
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket

“Thought provoking ”

Kindred is part historical fiction/part science fiction. Normally I am not keen on time travelling stories but this one seemed to work.
This story follows Dana a modern black woman who travels back in time to pre... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 111

“A superb science-fiction novel.”

Dana, a young woman from 1976, finds herself transported back in time to 19th century Maryland. Dana meets a young boy called Rufus and realises he is the reason she is brought to this time period. Her husband, Kevin,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 61

“Favourite SF book by far”

This was the first SF book I'd ever read--I was around 14 at the time--and it's stayed with me since. It takes you to a place of humility, necessity, and fear--in a phrase, slavery.

Think Neil Gaiman meets... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 58

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.