Bessie's War: A heartwarming wartime saga of love and loss for the post office girls (Paperback)
  • Bessie's War: A heartwarming wartime saga of love and loss for the post office girls (Paperback)
zoom

Bessie's War: A heartwarming wartime saga of love and loss for the post office girls (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 26/11/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A moving and nostalgic saga from Pam Evans, set in London during the Second World War. Perfect for readers of Katie Flynn, Kitty Neale and Dilly Court.

It is autumn 1940 and, as the bombs drop on London, a close-knit community struggles to survive.

Working at the local post office, Bessie Green does her best to keep her customers' spirits up, but when she receives a telegram addressed to her parents, there's nothing she can do to prevent the heartache that lies ahead.

Then Bessie hears that eleven-year-old Daisy Mason has been orphaned in a blast, and she's sure that taking Daisy into their home is just what her parents need to help them overcome their grief. At first, Daisy won't settle, then her handsome brother Josh comes back on leave and things look up for all of them. But the war brings further challenges for Bessie and her friends - with more hearts broken and loved-ones lost - before they can dare to dream of a brighter future...

Readers love Pam Evans heartwarming family sagas:

'A touching novel' Daily Express

'An unforgettable tale of life during the war' Our Time

'Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel' Bolton News

'There's a special kind of warmth that shines through the characters' Lancashire Evening Post

'This book touched me very, very much. It's lovely' North Wales Chronicle

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472256843
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 200 g
Dimensions: 194 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Pam Evans' well-loved family sagas:
A touching novel * Daily Express *
An unforgettable tale of life during the war * Our Time *
Nostalgia, heartbreak, danger and war: all the ingredients of an engrossing novel * Bolton News *
There's a special kind of warmth that shines through the characters * Lancashire Evening Post *
This book touched me very, very much. It's lovely * North Wales Chronicle *

You may also be interested in...

Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Four Swans
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Beggar Maid
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
Casting Off
Added to basket
Fairfield Hall
Added to basket
Nightingales on Call
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
The Loving Cup
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Woman of Substance
Added to basket
Cities of the Plain
Added to basket
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
The Workhouse Girl
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.