Find your perfect holiday reading
The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year (Paperback)
  • The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year (Paperback)
zoom

The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 04/04/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Read her letter. Remember her story...

Gripping. Mesmerising. Haunting. Heart-breaking. Once you've heard her story, you will never forget The Girl in the Letter.

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kathryn Hughes, this page-turning, moving novel of separation and long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

In the winter of 1956 pregnant young Ivy is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a home for unmarried mothers in the south of England, run by nuns, to have her child. Her baby daughter is adopted. Ivy will never leave.

Sixty years later, journalist Samantha stumbles upon a series of letters from Ivy to her lover, pleading with him to rescue her from St Margaret's before it is too late. As Sam pieces together Ivy's tragic story, terrible secrets about St Margaret's dark past begin to emerge. What happened to Ivy, to her baby, and to the hundreds of children born in the home? What links a number of mysterious, sudden deaths in the area? And why are those who once worked at St Margaret's so keen that the truth should never be told? As Sam unpicks the sinister web of lies surrounding St Margaret's, she also looks deep within - to confront some unwelcome truths of her own...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472255099
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 264 g
Dimensions: 197 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast-paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a bestseller -- Lesley Pearse
Compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you -- Sophie Kinsella
What a heartfelt emotional story, made even more so because it's based on a shocking truth. I raced through it, involved, moved and gripped * Fanny Blake *

You may also be interested in...

Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The King's Curse
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Mind-blowing - brilliant”

This book is mind-blowing, in my opinion. It is heart rending in so many ways. The Roman Catholic church was still all powerful to their parishoners in the 1950s and they used their power to humiliate - and worse -... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Terrors of Unmarried Pregnant girls in the 1950's”

This is a heartbreaking story set in the 1950's and is centred around St. Margaret's, a home for unmarried pregnant girls. Although this is a fictional story, establishments like this really existed and the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“A mystery set in true life tales of mother and baby homes of the 1950's”

A fast paced ‘mystery’ set around the heartbreaking background story of Mother and Baby homes of the 1950/60’s.

The two main characters Ivy, who becomes pregnant at a young age in the 1950’s and Samantha, a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.