Blood Orange (Paperback)
  • Blood Orange (Paperback)
zoom

Blood Orange (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99 £5.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 12/12/2019
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

One of the year’s mostly hotly tipped debuts, Blood Orange follows attorney Alison as she takes on the case of a woman accused of murder whilst dancing on her own fine line between an apparently perfect life and its reckless reality. Tyce treads a dark path, asking searching questions about guilt and innocence whilst cleverly turning the tables on accused and accuser.

An electrifying debut thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Anatomy of a Scandal, a stunning new voice in psychological suspense.

Alison has it all. A doting husband, adorable daughter, and a career on the rise - she's just been given her first murder case to defend. But all is never as it seems...

Just one more night. Then I'll end it.

Alison drinks too much. She's neglecting her family. And she's having an affair with a colleague whose taste for pushing boundaries may be more than she can handle.

I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up.

Alison's client doesn't deny that she stabbed her husband - she wants to plead guilty. And yet something about her story is deeply amiss. Saving this woman may be the first step to Alison saving herself.

I'm watching you. I know what you're doing.

But someone knows Alison's secrets. Someone who wants to make her pay for what she's done, and who won't stop until she's lost everything....

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472252746
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Gripping.' - The Daily Mail

'This thriller breathes new life into the domestic noir genre and grips until the final page.' - The Daily Express

'A heart-pounding thriller... and deliciously twisty plot.' - Good Housekeeping

'Harriet Tyce brings a new layer of visceral, addictive dark to domestic noir. Obsession, revenge, lust and murder play out on the pages as a female barrister tries to hold her life together while her personality tries to tear it apart. At once shocking and riveting, I simply couldn't stop reading. Bravo.' - Sarah Pinborough, Behind Her Eyes

'Blood Orange is destined to be the debut that everyone is talking about in 2019. Dark, original and utterly compelling, I could not put it down. And what a twist at the end!' - Lisa Jewell, Then She Was Gone

'A classy thriller with complex and compelling characters.' - Clare Mackintosh, I See You 

'Gritty and compelling, Blood Orange drags you right into the hearts of the flawed characters and their stories from the get go. A book that will keep you up all night.' - Kate Hamer * The Girl in the Red Coat *

A dark and disturbing domestic noir -- Louise Jensen * The Sister *

Blood Orange kept me frantically turning the pages, desperate to know what would happen next. A superb, compulsive read!' - Tess Gerritsen, I Know a Secret 

'This brilliant debut from Harriet Tyce has it all - a tricky murder case, a complex and conflicted female barrister battling her own demons, and layer upon layer of intrigue as Blood Orange flows towards its breath-taking ending.' - Rachel Abbott, author of Only the Innocent

'Combines sharp spare prose with a gloriously twisted plot - I read this in one heart-pounding, furiously angry sitting.' - Emma Flint, author of Little Deaths 

'The debut novel of the year. Harriet Tyce is now on my 'must read' list.' - Jeff Abbott, author of The Sam Capra Series 

'It was all brilliantly done. Writing, plotting, characters - wonderful and deeply satisfying, devour-in-one-sitting stuff!' - Lucy Mangan, author of Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading 

'We get it, every thriller going is "the new The Girl on the Train", but this one really does have you turning the pages in the same obsessive way ... It's not all about the twisty ending like some other thrillers. Instead it deals with issues faced by career women and the notion of "good" and "bad" in a way that will keep you thinking long after you've found out what happens.' - Cosmopolitan

'Dark and compelling.' - Mel McGrath 

'I raced through Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce, which is oh-so-timely and had me gasping aloud at the final twist.' - Hannah Beckerman

'Dark, sophisticated and sexy, Blood Orange is a powerful debut in the vein of Apple Tree Yard, that had me gripped to its very last page. I couldn't recommend it more highly.' - Elizabeth Fremantle, author of Queen's Gambit

'Tyce gives the domestic noir a timely update with this dark debut.' - iNews

'A sizzlingly addictive read... its mysteries unfurl brilliantly to that often most elusive quality: a genuinely satisfying end. Five stars.' - Lisa Howells, Heat

JP Delaney and Harriet Tyce In Conversation

JP Delaney and Harriet Tyce In Conversation

London - King's Road
Thursday 13th February 18:00

Join us for a conversation between two masters of the psychological thriller: JP Delaney and Harriet Tyce come to Waterstones King's Road to discuss their craft.

View

You may also be interested in...

The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Blue Moon
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Those People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wakenhyrst
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
You
Added to basket
You
£8.99
Paperback
Big Sky
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Reckoning
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Secret Service
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“ABSOLUTELY AMAZING”

THIS BOOK SHOULD CARRY A HEALTH WARNING!
Firstly, thank you for the early review copy, I know you told me it was great, but well I do hear that a lot...
So about the health warning... the tension was immense I felt... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“The Psychological Thriller is Alive and Well”

Oh ho, Ms. Harriet Tyce! So, you thought you’d write a debut novel did you? A psychological thriller, no less, eh? S’pose you thought it would be clever to come up with an absolute page turner that has a plot twistier... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“Great legal thriller/domestic noir!”

Firstly a big thanks to Fiona and Wilfire Books for getting me a proof copy. I really enjoyed Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce. It was an unusual legal thriller and I hadn't read anything like it before. The main... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.