Never Be Broken (D.I. Marnie Rome 6) - D.I. Marnie Rome (Hardback)
  • Never Be Broken (D.I. Marnie Rome 6) - D.I. Marnie Rome (Hardback)
zoom

Never Be Broken (D.I. Marnie Rome 6) - D.I. Marnie Rome (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 16/05/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Compulsive, gripping and dark, NEVER BE BROKEN is the stunning new novel in the Marnie Rome series, for fans of Peter James, Mark Billingham, and Val McDermid

'Deeply contemporary, painfully real, heartbreakingly good' Mick Herron

'DI Marnie Rome is a three-dimensional character of an emotional depth rarely encountered in the world of fictional cops' The Times

Children are dying on London's streets. Frankie Reece, stabbed through the heart, outside a corner shop. Others recruited from care homes, picked up and exploited; passed like gifts between gangs. They are London's lost.
Then Raphaela Belsham is killed. She's thirteen years old, her father is a man of influence, from a smart part of town. And she's white. Suddenly, the establishment is taking notice.
DS Noah Jake is determined to handle Raphaela's case and Frankie's too. But he's facing his own turmoil, and it's becoming an obsession. DI Marnie Rome is worried, and she needs Noah on side. Because more children are disappearing, more are being killed by the day and the swelling tide of violence needs to be stemmed before it's too late.

NEVER BE BROKEN is a stunning, intelligent and gripping novel which explores how the act of witness alters us, and reveals what lies beneath the veneer of a glittering city.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472249005
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 584 g
Dimensions: 241 x 161 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
[A] searing perceptive novel * Observer *
Deeply contemporary, painfully real, heartbreakingly good -- Mick Herron
Never Be Broken gloriously demonstrates that modern crime fiction really isn't all about the murders -- Val McDermid
Addictive, chilling and beautifully written. The timely story pulls you in deep -- Will Dean
The Marnie Rome stories are clever and sharp, but they also have the most incredibly emotional depth and clarity. I adored it -- Joanna Cannon
Sarah Hilary is going to be up there with the likes of Ruth Rendell, PD James and Val McDermid, as a game changer of British crime fiction * Crime Review *
Tough, tender, absolutely terrifying -- Erin Kelly
Heartbreaking, tense, intelligent storytelling from a writer at the top of her game. You won't get better writing than this * Live and Deadly blog *
Magnificent -- Alex Marwood
Compulsive and page-turning -- Melanie McGrath
A satisfyingly complex mystery * Mail on Sunday *

You may also be interested in...

Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sixteen Horses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
1979
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Greenwich Park
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Compelling”

Thanks to Headline and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

If you enjoy books that combine the gritty realism of contemporary issues with a top-notch mystery, then you will love Sarah Hilary's... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Good, Fast Paced Novel.”

This is book 6 in the DI Marnie Rome series. Children are being killed on London's streets and DI Rome races to find out who is responsible but she has issues to deal with within her workforce as DS Noah Jake... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22
Rachel Bridgeman

“A most welcome return to DI Marnie Rome”

Ok, I don't know how this has happened but I appear to have missed one of the books in the series(unforgiveable!). 'Never Be Broken' starts with a gasp inducing act that throws you into the story, front... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.