The Unquiet Heart (Paperback)
  • The Unquiet Heart (Paperback)
zoom

The Unquiet Heart (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 12/11/2020
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Kaite Welsh's thrilling medical mystery THE UNQUIET HEART is the second in the gothic Sarah Gilchrist series, following a medical student turned detective in Victorian Edinburgh. For readers of Natasha Pulley's THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET or Laura Purcell's THE SILENT COMPANIONS

This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery - Sunday Express


Sarah Gilchrist has no intention of marrying her dull fiancé Miles, the man her family hope will restore her reputation and put an end to her dreams of becoming a doctor, but when he is arrested for a murder she is sure he didn't commit she finds herself his reluctant ally. Beneath the genteel façade of upper class Edinburgh lurks blackmail, adultery, poison and madness and Sarah must return to Edinburgh's slums, back alleys and asylums as she discovers the dark past about a family where no one is what they seem, even Miles himself. It also brings her back into the orbit of her mercurial professor, Gregory Merchiston - he sees Sarah as his protegee, but can he stave off his demons long enough to teach her the skills that will save her life?

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472239853
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 205 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The mystery is secondary to Welsh's depiction of the plight of intelligent, ambitious women in 19th-century Britain, long before anyone dreamed of #MeToo, when a spotless reputation and a suitable marriage was the end all and be all for a woman, her own wishes and desires be damned. Sarah's plight is an infuriating one indeed, and readers will cheer her every step of the way - Publishers Weekly

[An] excellent mix of historical mystery and romance - Booklist

A nicely constructed historical mystery about the unorthodox sleuthing of a young woman who's studying to be a doctor at the University of Edinburgh - New York Times

You may also be interested in...

The Winter List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Lock-Up
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Munich Wolf
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Bookseller of Inverness
Added to basket
The Maiden
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Alchemy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Square of Sevens
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Puzzle Wood
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The Beholders
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Shanghai
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Great Deceiver
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Betrayal
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Death Under a Little Sky
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“One of the best Books ever.”

I think Kaite Welsh is one the greatest writers in Scotland. The Unquiet Heart is one of those addictive stories that you want to turn over page after page. Sarah is desperate to get out of her arranged marriage so... More

Hardback edition
7 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Highly recommend! Finished it in a day!”

Sarah Gilchrist is one of the few female medical students at the University of Edinburgh. A fallen woman having left London because of scandal, studying Medicine is all she has. When her unwanted fiance is accused of... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: