The Drowned City: Daniel Pursglove 1 - Daniel Pursglove (Hardback)
  • The Drowned City: Daniel Pursglove 1 - Daniel Pursglove (Hardback)
zoom

The Drowned City: Daniel Pursglove 1 - Daniel Pursglove (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 448 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A deliciously dark historical thriller seething with spies, conspiracy and murder, The Drowned City paints a gripping picture of Bristol crippled by the disastrous flood of 1606 and the cut-throat political turmoil of Jacobean England.

Gunpowder and treason changed England forever. But the tides are turning and revenge runs deep in this compelling historical thriller for fans of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor's Ashes of London, Kate Mosse and Blood & Sugar.

1606. A year to the day that men were executed for conspiring to blow up Parliament, a towering wave devastates the Bristol Channel. Some proclaim God's vengeance. Others seek to take advantage.

In London, Daniel Pursglove lies in prison waiting to die. But Charles FitzAlan, close adviser to King James I, has a job in mind that will free a man of Daniel's skill from the horrors of Newgate. If he succeeds.

For Bristol is a hotbed of Catholic spies, and where better for the lone conspirator who evaded arrest, one Spero Pettingar, to gather allies than in the chaos of a drowned city? Daniel journeys there to investigate FitzAlan's lead, but soon finds himself at the heart of a dark Jesuit conspiracy - and in pursuit of a killer.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472235947
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 680 g
Dimensions: 236 x 158 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A dark and enthralling historical novel with a powerful narrative. The mysterious Daniel Pursglove has all the qualifications for a memorable series hero' - Andrew Taylor

'Spies, thieves, murderers and King James I? Brilliant. Wonderful, exciting story' - Conn Iggulden

You may also be interested in...

The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Azincourt
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Conspiracy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket

“A totally immersive read”

I’ve just spent 24 hours of my life immersed in life in the flood-ravaged Bristol of 1606, caught up in the intrigues of the post-Gunpowder Plot Jacobean court and cutting through a web of spies, lies, superstition... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Vivienne O'Regan

“The start of a new series of spy thrillers set in Jacobean England”

My thanks to Headline Review for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘The Drowned City’ by K. J. Maitland in exchange for an honest review.

This is the first in a new series of historical mysteries set in Jacobean England... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4
Jon at Exeter Roman Gate

“For historical crime lovers, rich in detail.”

Rich in period detail, this is recommended for lovers of historical thrillers. The plot occasionally slows down to allow the reader to experience the setting, before rushing to an exciting ending. Hopefully, the first... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.