A Gathering of Ghosts (Paperback)
  • A Gathering of Ghosts (Paperback)
zoom

A Gathering of Ghosts (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 06/09/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Pagans tackle the Knights of St John with terrible consequences in the new medieval thriller by Queen of the Dark Ages, Karen Maitland. Set on the wilds of Dartmoor, this is a ghostly tale for fans of The Essex Serpent, C. J. Sansom's Shardlake series and The Burning Chambers by Kate Mosse.

'A dark read... fear and hysteria are portrayed with claustrophobic skill' The Times on THE PLAGUE CHARMER

1316. On the wilds of Dartmoor stands the isolated Priory of St Mary, home to the Sisters of the Knights of St John. People journey from afar in search of healing at the holy well that lies beneath its chapel.

But the locals believe Dartmoor was theirs long before Christianity came to the land. And not all who visit seek miracles. When three strangers reach the moor, fear begins to stir as the well's waters run with blood.

What witchcraft have the young woman, the Knight of St John and the blind child brought with them?

The Sisters will need to fight for everything they hold dear as the ghosts of the Old World gather in their midst.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472235886
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 706 g
Dimensions: 233 x 158 x 45 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A brilliant writer, with a real sense of history -- Susanna Gregory
Recommended both as a historical novel that shines a light on the harsh conditions endured by ordinary people in the 14th century, and also as a very well-crafted piece of folk horror * Irregular Fiction *
Maitland excels at creating twists and turns, presenting conflicting viewpoints and unexpected outcomes * Bookbag *
[Maitland's] trademark blend of history, fiction and supernatural is at its electrifying best * Lancashire Evening Post *

You may also be interested in...

Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Death of Kings
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket

“A cracking read”

An entertaining, well researched piece of historical fiction. The story quickly draws you in and keeps you engaged with fabulous characterisation. The author brings this period of history alive with her richly... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

“A good read”

An entertaining, well researched piece of historical fiction. The story quickly draws you in and keeps you engaged with fabulous characterisation. The author brings this period of history alive with her richly... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17
TheBookTrail

“1300s Dartmoor is a chilling place ..”

A medieval tale of witches and witchcraft, legends and ghosts on the moors of Dartmoor.

First things first, the immersive reading experience is something else. The book opens with the wet weather having ruined months... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.