Defender: The Voices Book 1 (Paperback)
  • Defender: The Voices Book 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Defender: The Voices Book 1 (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 10/08/2017
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The world is ending. But the voice in your head might just save you. Listen to it very carefully...

'Of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand' INDEPENDENT

'Lee Child channelling Stephen King - but the vision is unique' DAILY MAIL

Defender is a 'heart-in-mouth', wildly original post-apocalyptic thriller for fans of Stephen King, Clive Barker and The Walking Dead.

---

ON THE CUSP OF SLEEP, HAVE WE NOT ALL HEARD A VOICE CALL OUT OUR NAME?

In a world where long drinks are in short supply, it's dangerous to listen to your inner voice.

Those who do, keep it quiet.

But one man listens to the voice in his head telling him to buy a lemonade from the girl sitting on a dusty road.

There is a reason why Pilgrim and Lacey must cross paths.

They just don't know it yet . . .

'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' LEE CHILD

'So accomplished that it's difficult to believe it's a first novel' JOHN CONNOLLY

Readers DEVOURED Defender

'This has to be my favourite book so far this year... G X Todd has delivered a genius debut that grips you from start to finish'

'This was great! Well written, gripping, emotion, great characters'

'A stunning debut... I can't wait to find out where book two will take us'

'Kept me guessing and surprised me at every turn'

'Pilgrim and Lacey's friendship and care is lightness and hope in a dark world'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472233103
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 341 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Compelling, suspenseful, and altogether extraordinary. You won't forget this one in a hurry -- Lee Child
So accomplished that it's difficult to believe it's a first novel, Defender is already worthy to take its place alongside The Stand in the canon. An absolute gem of a book -- John Connolly
A chilling vision of a world gone feral, yet strangely triumphant. You can taste the dust and blood and sweat; the fear on every page. Readers should approach with caution, those voices will burrow into your head and heart -- Karen Maitland
An incredibly accomplished and impressive debut. The novel is of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand. . . Defender stands head and shoulders above most recent post-apocalyptic offerings * Independent *
It's not often you read a debut this assured, this confident. Defender is simply majestic -- Adam Christopher, author of Made to Kill
Defender is insane, intelligent, beautifully plotted, intensely absorbing and will enfold you in a vice-like grip from the first page until the last sentence * Lizlovesbooks.com *
A rich blend of horror and heart . . . sharp, gruelling and gripping, and we can't wait to explore this harsh world further and see what Todd has to offer us in part two * SciFiNow magazine *
Highly entertaining . . . Defender portrays a vivid picture of the cruelty of humanity and highlights the destructive power of the mind * thebookbag.com *
Defender is a delightfully dark dystopian journey with compelling characters and a provocative plot. Highly recommended * sfbook.com *
Yes it's dark, violent and blood. Yes there's gore, guns and grief. But there's also friendship, loyalty, fantastic characters and writing that will keep you hooked from the outset. . . This is a series to be really excited about * strupag.com *
Extremely refreshing . . . a brilliant thriller * Starburst
magazine *
Defender is lifted way above the other novels in the over-subscribed post-apocalyptic subgenre by Todd's sympathetic characterisation, and superb pacing * Guardian *
G X Todd is not just going to be "The Next Big Thing", she's going to be the benchmark for other "Next Big Things" * ebookwyrm.blogspot.co.uk *
Post-apocalyptic amazingness -- Gillian McAllister, author of Everything But The Truth
Promises to be the start of a wonderful series. A superb debut novel * bluebookballoon.blogspot.co.uk *
Quite simply an unputdownable page-turner. Seek it out! * booksmonthly.co.uk *
The best dystopian novel I have read for a long time. . . This book made me laugh and cry and was impossible to put down * bookerworm.com *
Defender is one of those absolute rarities - a book by a debut author that is genuinely mind-blowing * mikecraven.co.uk *
Wow. . . A brilliant debut novel. . . I can't wait for the next book in the series * jacob-reviews-books.blogspot.co.uk *

You may also be interested in...

The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Sanatorium
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Magpie
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bad Actors
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Nothing Left Unsaid
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Stella Maris
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Rob

“Assured post-apocalyptic debut novel”

The authors comments at the end of Defender add some interesting footnotes to what was a very enjoyable post-apocalyptic story. She explains that "bicameral" man is essentially a human who has two chambers.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

“BRILLIANT”

It’s our world, but not as we know it. It’s been seven years since the voices made themselves known and the population of the world dwindled. Now those that are left fighting to survive.

Pilgrim is a loner. He has... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“'On the cusp of sleep, have we not all heard a voice call out our name?'”

Defender is an imaginative post-apocalyptic thriller, guaranteed to set your pulse racing! The first of four parts, Defender introduces us to Pilgrim, a worldy-wise traveller and Lacey, a young girl who has been... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.