Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1) (Paperback)
  • Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1) (Paperback)
zoom

Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1) (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 21/04/2016
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

World War II has begun. As war rages, and the evacuation of Dunkirk approaches, the women of south London have their own battles to fight. Helen Carey's LONDON ROAD is a compelling novel perfect for fans of Lilian Harry, Kate Thompson and Annie Murray.

September 1939

As the nation braces itself for war, the residents of Lavender Road are dealing with troubles of their own.

With her husband in jail, Joyce Carter is never sure where her family's next meal will come from. And her troublesome daughter, Jen, isn't helping matters by refusing to work until she achieves her dream of becoming an actress.

Pam Nelson is struggling to deny the distance growing between her and her husband - which isn't helped by her secret attraction to their handsome new lodger. And unfortunately Pam isn't the only one to fall for his seductive charm...

As the threat of a German invasion looms, the lives of the women on this south London street are about to change for ever...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472231482
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 360 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Written with a lightness of touch, an emotional integrity and an historical accuracy which has brought her respect from critics and readers alike' -- Louis de Bernieres
'Sparkling storytelling!' * Evening Standard *
'One of the best books I've read in a long time. I laughed and cried and didn't want it to end' -- A Goodreads Member

You may also be interested in...

Every Mother's Son
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Dark Ship
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Daughter's Disgrace
Added to basket
The Bad Apple
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Woman of Substance
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Valley of Horses
Added to basket
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Mammoth Hunters
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Cities of the Plain
Added to basket
A Mother's Struggle
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.