The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heartwarming saga from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author (Paperback)
  • The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heartwarming saga from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author (Paperback)
zoom

The Liverpool Matchgirl: The heartwarming saga from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 26/07/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Parentless and alone on the streets of Liverpool, Lizzie must fight for a brighter future...

Curl up this winter with a heart-warming and poignant saga by Sunday Times best selling author Lyn Andrews. Set in Liverpool in the years before the First World War, Liverpool Matchgirl is the perfect read for fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin or Call the Midwife.

Liverpool, 1901. The Tempest family is all but destitute, barely able to put food on the table. When Florrie falls ill with pneumonia and Arthur is imprisoned after a drunken fight, their thirteen-year-old daughter Lizzie finds herself parentless, desperate and alone.

Despite her young age, Lizzie has spirit and determination, and she knows that she must find work to keep herself off the streets. In a stroke of luck, she gets a job in the match factory, and foreman George Rutherford takes her under his wing. A new home with the Rutherfords promises a safe haven, but the years ahead will be far from trouble-free. And when Lizzie gives her heart, how can she be sure she has chosen a better man than her own father?


What readers are saying about The Liverpool Matchgirl:

'I couldn't put it down' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'Love this book...another brilliant novel from a brilliant author' Amazon reader, 5 stars

'An excellent read, Lyn Andrews never disappoints' Amazon reader, 5 stars

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472228772
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller' * Woman's Weekly *
A vivid portrayal of life * Best *
A compelling read * Woman's Own *
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool * Northern Echo *
Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning * Daily Express *

You may also be interested in...

Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Eliza's Child
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
A Woman of Substance
Added to basket
Hatter's Castle
Added to basket
£18.99
Paperback
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Emily
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Mother's Struggle
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Marking Time
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
The New Breadmakers
Added to basket
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Chesapeake Blue
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.