Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession: Six Tudor Queens 2 - Six Tudor Queens (Paperback)
  • Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession: Six Tudor Queens 2 - Six Tudor Queens (Paperback)
zoom

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession: Six Tudor Queens 2 - Six Tudor Queens (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 544 Pages
Published: 11/01/2018
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.

Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.

But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.

Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.

Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story. History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.

Six Tudor Queens.  Six novels. Six years.

A bestselling novelist and popular historian, English author Alison Weir is best known for her novels and non-fiction centring on life around the Tudor court. Her non-fiction includes: Lancaster and York, The Lost Tudor Princess, Henry VIII, The Lady in the Tower, Isabella and Queens of the Conquest. Her novels include: Innocent Traitor, A Dangerous Inheritance and The Six Tudor Queens series.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472227669
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 382 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Alison Weir's wonderfully detailed novel offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne's true nature . . . Enthralling - Sarah Gristwood on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Weir's Boleyn is a highly intelligent idealist, who becomes the tragic victim of her own ambition. . . The novel is a triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman - Elizabeth Fremantle on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

This is Anne Boleyn as you have never seen her before. I could not put it down - Tracy Borman on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

A marvellous book - Anne comes alive and leaps from the page, fascinating, enthralling, full blooded - you can't help but fall in love with her. A brilliant evocation of the period - and a knife edge moment in British history. Wonderful - Kate Williams on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Alison Weir has brought English history's most famous 'other woman' compellingly to life. The story of Anne Boleyn's rise from accomplished court lady to Henry VIII's second queen is vividly told and the terror of her final days will haunt the reader. A must for all lovers of historical fiction - Linda Porter, author of Katherine the Queen and Royal Renegades

Alison Weir makes history come alive as no one else - Barbara Erskine

Alison Weir is the doyen of Tudor fiction and non-fiction ... With Alison's light touch, [Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession] is fiction that reads as fact, and leaves us breathless, hoping ... then of course we recognise that we are not reading pure fiction after all, but a finely woven tapestry of fictional biography that stays with us long after we close the book at the final line. It is simply a masterpiece - Susan Ronald on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Weir's outstanding and sound historical research shines through, shedding new light on England's most controversial queen. Weir provides page after page of utterly compelling detail, keeping the reader hooked from start to finish. This book is not only a world apart from any other novel on Anne Boleyn, it is also an exquisite work of literary art - Nicola Tallis on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Detailed, immaculately researched and convincing - Antonia Senior, The Times on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Prominent royal biographer and historical novelist Weir is well-placed to craft this detailed fictionalportrait of Henry VIII's second wife . . . She explores Anne's influences and motivations, creating amultifaceted portrait of an ambitious woman who reluctantly accedes to Henry's courtship and later actsout of desperation to protect herself and her daughter, Elizabeth. Even readers who know Anne's storywell should gain insights from this revealing novel - Booklist on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life - Guardian

This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII's first wife, Katherine... A fascinating insight into this period of our history. Weir's undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England - Sun

Weir manages to untangle the complex web of 16th-century politics, shown through Katherine's duties as ambassador, and her astute reading of the games being played. This adds greatly to the heft of the character, demonstrating what a competent woman she was becoming - Herald Scotland

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen is a true tour de force. Finely crafted, this novel is wonderful historical fiction and an outstanding introduction to the Six Tudor Queens series - Queen Anne Boleyn Blog

Alison Weir clearly admires her heroine ... meticulously researched - The Times

Captivating... The way that Katherine comes alive on the page is credit to the author who has such a breadth of knowledge about this Tudor period that it's a real pleasure to read her fictional work - Jaffareadstoo Blog

This well-researched and engrossing read gives a new perspective on the long-suffering first wife - Good Housekeeping

Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail . . . her handling of Katherine's misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching - Elizabeth Buchan, Daily Mail

The authentic voice of Katherine rings true throughout. It is a study of a woman who inspires admiration as well as sympathy ... a fitting tribute to a queen who was unduly wronged by history - Lady

This ambitious, engrossing novel tells Katherine's story from that moment, through her brief and controversial marriage to Prince Arthur and then to his brother, the handsome, gallant Henry VIII ... Fascinating - S Magazine (Sunday Express)

Alison ensures that we not only come away knowing more of the real Katherine, we understand more of how it felt to be her... The author really enables us to feel the claustrophobia and paranoia as Katherine tries to make decisions for her day to day life on snippets of news from her advisors - advisors she begins to realise may not be telling her the truth - The Book Bag

Alison Weir brings Henry VIII's first queen to life, revealing a strong, spirited and intelligent woman fighting for her rights and those of her daughter - Choice magazine

Weir's opening foray into the life of Katherine of Aragon presents Henry's first and most enduring marriage from a refreshingly new and utterly gripping perspective - Lancashire Evening Post

Brilliantly rich - Heat

You may also be interested in...

A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
London
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Clan of the Cave Bear
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Beginning of Spring
Added to basket
Laura at Harrogate

“Some character and pacing issues”

While I did find this a much more palatable read than the first book in the series, I was still left incredibly frustrated by some of Weir's choices in her depiction of the women surrounding Henry. The narrative... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

“Enjoyable read”

This book kept me hooked and I really enjoyed reading it. Didn't want to put it down. Despite what you might feel about the various portrayals of Anne Boleyn, it's great fiction.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Mixed”

Continuing with her Six Queens saga, A King’s Obsession is Alison Weir’s story of Anne Boleyn.

Born in England, Anne Boleyn’s formative years were spent at the courts of Europe. First with Margaret of Austria, and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: