Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3) - D.I. Marnie Rome (Paperback)
  • Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3) - D.I. Marnie Rome (Paperback)
zoom

Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3) - D.I. Marnie Rome (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 28/07/2016
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A dark, compelling Marnie Rome novel, rich with psychological insight, from the winner of the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year. For readers of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood.

'Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity' Cath Staincliffe


The fragile young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn't want to be found, she only wants to return to the man who understands her and offers her warmth, comfort, a home. He gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house.

D.I. Marnie Rome thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl's disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she's about to face.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472226433
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 320 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
One of Britain's best new crime writers * Daily Mail *
Marnie goes from strength to strength... this one drips with the gritty, dirty, danger of the urban wastelands around the river -- Julia Crouch
Highly compelling and atmospheric... the storyline and characters involved me completely, from the very first -- Kate Rhodes
Hilary's depiction of 13-year-old Laura Beswick, Loz, is heartbreaking and convincing. This pacy, easy-reading novel is lifted by its perceptive examination of the distress of girls who don't believe they fit their allotted space in the world and the agony of the parents who try to make them understand how deeply they are loved -- N. J. Cooper
Writes with an effortless ease and fervour that displays what an accomplished writer she is * Crimespree magazine *
Tastes Like Fear is quality intelligent crime, with enough twists to keep you glued to the page and a massive dose of terrifying anticipation * Northern Crime
blog *
Tastes Like Fear is an extraordinary depiction of psychological and economic violence that is genuinely chilling * Pam Reader
blog *
A masterclass in pace and plot * Joanne Sheppard blog *
Tastes Like Fear is a triumph; brutal, honest and quite brilliant * Random Things Through My Letterbox blog *
Fast-paced, tightly plotted and well-written * The Bath Magazine *
I cannot recommend this book highly enough * Live and Deadly blog *
It is devious, dark, deliciously chilling. A formidable addition to an accomplished series that just keeps getting better and better * Never Imitate blog *
A tautly conceived story that will grab you from the first page and refuse to let go until the last * CrimeSquad *
Tastes Like Fear is every bit as assured and involving as its two predecessors, and Hilary is a writer who is clearly here to stay * Crime Time *
Yet again the author proves herself to be among the leaders of contemporary British crime fiction * For Winter Nights blog *
Brilliant. I put everything else aside when I have one of her books in the house -- Alex Marwood
A tense, terrifying tale of obsession and possession . . . a writer at the top of her game -- Alison Graham * Radio Times *
A truly chilling exploration of control, submission and the desire to step out of a normal life -- Eva Dolan
It's meaty, dark and terrifying. Unflinchingly violent and beautifully big-hearted in equal measure. And Sarah's writing is glorious - she tells us things in new ways, gives us a fully fleshed, sensual world to inhabit for the novel -- Julia Crouch
Mixing a strong sense of social justice with carefully crafted characters and an interesting plot, this is a powerful piece of crime writing that builds to an emotionally charged conclusion * Sydney Herald *
I think it must be one of the debut novels of next year, if not THE debut novel... (It will be if there is any justice in the world!) -- Caro Ramsay
Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity, I think Sarah's onto a winning series and I really look forward to reading the next instalment -- Cath Staincliffe
It's written with the verve and assurance of a future star and deserves to be a big hit -- Steven Dunne
It has such pace and force. It's very disturbing and builds up to a terrific climax -- Helen Dunmore
I finished it today and it's completely brilliant, complex, thrilling, brutal, tender, scary and intriguing. What a great book. The pacing is superb, the plot is compelling, the characters are so well drawn. The ending is ingenious -- Richard Jones of Bristol Review of Books

You may also be interested in...

The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Postscript Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Kingdom
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Art of Dying
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
Project Hail Mary
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Tastes Like Fear”


I have followed Sarah Hilary's excellent series since receiving the first novel at Theakston's Crime festival a few years ago. I really enjoyed that book, which later won crime novel of the year in 2015. In... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 44
Bookread2day

“Not to be missed”

This is my second book by Sarah Hilary that I have read and enjoyed reading both of them. Joe Eaton swerved his Audi trying not to hit the girl who had run out in front of him. The sixteen year old girl literally... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 42

“It's The Dog B~#*!&ks”

The Crime Writing award winning sensation that is Sarah Hilary returns with her creation DI Marnie Rome and her DS Noah Jake. Once again Hilary delivers a thriller that has more twists than twister and delivers them... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.