Strangers with the Same Dream (Hardback)
  • Strangers with the Same Dream (Hardback)
zoom

Strangers with the Same Dream (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 09/08/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From Alison Pick, Booker longlisted author of FAR TO GO comes a suspenseful, dystopian reimagining of the founding of a kibbutz in 1920s Palestine, for readers of WHEN I LIVED IN MODERN TIMES, THE HANDMAID'S TALE or THE POWER.

'We came into their valley at dawn'. From three vastly different points of view, Alison Pick relates the story of a group of Jewish pioneers, many escaping violent homelands, who have come together to found a kibbutz on a patch of land that will later become Israel. With tightly controlled intensity, Pick takes us into three very different minds to show us how a utopian dream is punctured by messy human entanglements. Yet this is also the story of the land itself (present day Israel and Palestine), revealing the way the newcomers chose to ignore the fact that their valley was already populated, home to a people that the pioneers did not want to see.

In writing of extraordinary, at times heartbreaking power, Pick has created unforgettable characters, haunted by ghosts and compromised by unbearable secrets. The novel's shocking conclusion is a tour de force, the work of a writer uniquely in control of her craft and with an extraordinary insight into the innermost workings of the human heart.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472225115
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 645 g
Dimensions: 240 x 157 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Painfully topical, this raw and sensual novel is one of the most skillful examples of multiple simultaneous viewpoints (and in the process, characterisation) I've ever encountered, its perfectly meted revelations heightening the personal tragedy and collective moral conflict. Outstanding -- Isabel Costello * Literary Sofa *
A riveting, timely novel that takes an essential moment in Jewish history and allows it to blaze into being in all its strange and glorious complexity. Alison Pick has a way of reinventing the historical novel again and again -- Jenny Offil, author of Dept. of Speculation
Explores the dark side of utopian longing with terrific sensitivity, intelligence and attention to beauty. Alison Pick is one of the wisest and most compassionate of writers -- Lauren Groff, author of FATES AND FURIES
Stunning. On one level, a fascinating novel about early kibbutz life. More deeply, this is thought-provoking fiction that asks important questions about idealism, privacy, equality, power, corruption and war -- Miriam Toews, author of ALL MY PUNY SORROWS
A riveting, timely novel that takes an essential moment in Jewish history and allows it to blaze into being in all its strange and glorious complexity. Alison Pick has a way of reinventing the historical novel again and again -- Jenny Offill, author of Dept. of Speculation
STRANGERS WITH THE SAME DREAM explores the dark side of utopian longing with terrific sensitivity, intelligence and attention to beauty. Alison Pick is one of the wisest and most compassionate of writers -- Lauren Groff, author of Fates and Furies

You may also be interested in...

The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Young Mungo
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.