On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller (Paperback)
  • On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller (Paperback)
zoom

On the Bone (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 18): A gripping Istanbul-based crime thriller (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 02/06/2016
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The brand-new Istanbul crime thriller staring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. ON THE BONE is perfect for fans of Donna Leon.

In Istanbul - the golden city on the Bosphorus - ancient myths and modern evils are at work...

On a buzzing street in the fashionable district of Beyoglu, a young man drops dead. Ümit Kavas's death was natural but the autopsy betrays a shocking truth: his last meal was human flesh.

Under desperate pressure from their superiors, Inspector Cetin Ikmen and his colleague Mehmet Süleyman begin their most obscure investigation yet. How did Ümit Kavas, apparently a good, liberal man, come to partake in the greatest taboo of all? Did he act alone? And who was his victim?

Soon they find themselves embroiled in a dark web of underground worlds: of Turkey's old secular elite; a community of squatters; and a new gastronomy scene breaking every boundary. But where does the truth lie?

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472213822
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 199 x 135 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Intelligent and captivating - Sunday Times

Inspector Çetin Ikmen is one of detective fiction's most likeable investigators, despite his grumpy and unsociable character...think of him as the Morse of Istanbul - Daily Telegraph

Impeccable mystery plotting, exotic and atmospheric - Guardian

The delight of Nadel's books is the sense of being taken beneath the surface of an ancient city... We look into the alleyways and curious dark quarters of Istanbul, full of complex characters and louche atmosphere - Independent

Nadel's evocation of the shady underbelly of modern Turkey is one of the perennial joys of crime fiction - Mail on Sunday

Gripping and unusual detective story, vivid and poignant - Literary Review

The Morse of Istanbul - Daily Telegraph

Intelligent and captivating - The Sunday Times

You may also be interested in...

The World of Hercule Poirot
Added to basket
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: