My Mother's Secret: A warm family drama full of humour and heartache (Paperback)
  • My Mother's Secret: A warm family drama full of humour and heartache (Paperback)
zoom

My Mother's Secret: A warm family drama full of humour and heartache (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 10/03/2016
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Sheila O'Flanagan's MY MOTHER'S SECRET is a thought-provoking and unputdownable novel about a family reeling from the news that nothing about their parents' marriage is what they believed it to be. A wonderful read perfect for fans of Veronica Henry and Lisa Jewell.

When Steffie helps her two siblings organize a surprise wedding anniversary party for their parents her only worry is whether they'll be pleased. What she doesn't know is this is the day that her whole world will be turned upside down.

Jenny wants to be able to celebrate her ruby anniversary with the man she loves, but for forty years she has kept a secret. A secret that she can't bear to hide any longer. But is it ever the right time to hurt the people closest to you?

As the entire family gather to toast the happy couple, they're expecting a day to remember. The trouble is, it's not going to be for the reasons they imagined...

What readers are saying about My Mother's Secret:

'A novel with humour and heartache and a believable ending. Heart-warming, entertaining and very enjoyable' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Sheila O'Flanagan always seems to create a cast of characters that you can identify with and care about. My Mother's Secret is no exception. I found myself instantly connecting with them' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A great book in true Sheila O'Flanagan style. The characters are all great warm-hearted Irish folk and there are many laughs and twists and turns along the way' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472210708
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 347 g
Dimensions: 197 x 163 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Sheila's novels: 'O'Flanagan is insightful, witty and full of fun ... this is touching, tense and clever writing' * Irish Independent *
Make some space in your suitcase * Candis *
Really enjoyable... Will keep you guessing right up until the end * Heat *
A very warm and touching book ... deserves to be a bestseller * Woman's Way *
Romantic and charming, this is a real must-read * Closer *
O'Flanagan's lightness of touch and gentle characterisations have produced another fine read; an ideal addition to that summer holiday * Sunday Express *
'One of our best storytellers' * Irish Mail on Sunday (on MY MOTHER'S SECRET) *
'Exploring family relationships, which this bestselling author does so well, it's a good holiday read' * Choice magazine (on MY MOTHER'S SECRET) *

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket

“not the best book ”

First time i have read any of this author books , to be truthful i don't think i will ever again . This book was so boring i fell to sleep loads of times reading it !

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 64
Bookread2day

“surprise wedding anniversary party”

Review by ireadnovels.wordpress.com
Another wonderful tale by Sheila O Flanagan, with a wonderful rich mixture of characters and personalities. Steffie and her sister Roisin and their brother has organized a surprise... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.