Prisoner of Night and Fog: A heart-breaking story of courage during one of history's darkest hours (Paperback)
  • Prisoner of Night and Fog: A heart-breaking story of courage during one of history's darkest hours (Paperback)
zoom

Prisoner of Night and Fog: A heart-breaking story of courage during one of history's darkest hours (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 06/11/2014
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

An ordinary girl faces an extraordinary choice in this gripping, coming-of-age tale of secrets and courage set in Nazi Germany, perfect for readers who enjoyed The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.'

'It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true' Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity

Munich, 1931. Gretchen Muller has been cherished and protected by Adolf Hitler ever since her father, a senior Nazi officer, sacrificed himself to save the life of the Fuhrer. And now Germany has the chance to be great once more, under the command of her 'Uncle Dolf'.

But secrets cannot be silenced forever. When Gretchen meets a young Jewish reporter named Daniel Cohen, who claims that her father was actually murdered, she becomes swept up in a desperate and dangerous search for the truth. With the full might of the ever-powerful Nazi party on her tail, and the motives of her dearest friends now in question, Gretchen must risk everything to determine her own allegiances - even if her choices could get her and Daniel killed.


What readers are saying about Prisoner of Night and Fog:

'Takes a mature approach to a very serious subject and immerses the reader in the twisted, violent culture of Nazism in the years before Hitler came to power'

'Blankman has woven her clever and well-researched plot around real people and real events - not least the character of Hitler himself'

'A great read for anyone who wants a gripping page turner and particularly to those wanting to find out more about a grimly fascinating period of history'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472207845
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 264 g
Dimensions: 198 x 132 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Grabs the reader from its first paragraph.... [A] remarkable book * Jewish Book Council *
I'm in awed envy of the daring with which Anne Blankman plunges into her difficult and sensitive subject matter. To read Prisoner of Night and Fog is to be immersed in a breathtaking evocation of Munich in the 1930s, where life is ordinary and skin-crawling by turns, and in the painful, hopeful story of one young girl's awakening conscience. It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true -- Elizabeth Wein, author of CODENAME VERITY
A tremendously cleverly constructed and terrifically compelling story that puts you right back into History - I read this one obsessively and felt every single moment * www.lizlovesbooks.com *
I haven't liked a historical fiction novel quite this much since Elizabeth Wein's Rose Under Fire. Prisoner of Night and Fog is completely absorbing. It's well-written and clever, and the sort of book that lingers in your thoughts well after the final pages * www.realmoffiction.blogspot.co.uk *
Completely engrossing * Publishers Weekly (starred review) *

You may also be interested in...

Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Head Kid
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Not My Fault
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway (book 12)
Added to basket
Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Mega Make and Do (and Stories Too!)
Added to basket
Fing
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Ghosts of the Shadow Market
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

“the perfect YA book...”

for those who want to try giving a historical fiction book a try then I would advise anyone to read this book. not only for YA but for adults also. it's full of thrills and suspense. Blankmans research into the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.