I Meant It Once (Paperback)
  • I Meant It Once (Paperback)
zoom

I Meant It Once (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Paperback 256 Pages
Published: 07/09/2023
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'I Meant It Once explores longing, belonging and the big emotions that can make us feel small with unusual elegance and depth' Coco Mellors, author of Cleopatra and Frankenstein

'Gorgeously written and staggeringly honest . . . It will bewitch you' Tess Gunty, author of The Rabbit Hutch

'I Meant it Once signals the arrival of a major talent and voice' Brandon Taylor, author of Booker Prize Finalist Real Life

'I was enraptured by these stories... Perfect for fans of Greta Gerwig' Edel Coffey

With this sharp and witty debut collection, author Kate Doyle captures precisely that time of life when so many young women are caught in between, pre-occupied by nostalgia for past relationships - with friends, roommates, siblings - while trying to move forward into an uncertain future. In "That Is Shocking," a college student relates a darkly funny story of romantic humiliation, one that skirts the parallel story of a friend she betrayed. In others, young women long for friends who have moved away, or moved on. In "Cinnamon Baseball Coyote" and other linked stories about siblings Helen, Evan, and Grace, their years of inside jokes and brutal tensions simmer over as the three spend a holiday season in an amusing whirl of rivalry and mutual attachment, and a generational gulf widens between them and their parents. Throughout, in stories both lyrical and haunting, young women search for ways to break free from the expectations of others and find a way to be in the world.

Written with crystalline prose and sly humour, the stories in I Meant It Once build to complete a profoundly recognizable portrait of early adulthood and the ways in which seemingly incidental moments can come to define the stories we tell ourselves. For fans of Elif Batuman, Ottessa Moshfegh, Patricia Lockwood, and Melissa Bank, these stories about being young and adrift in today's world go down easy and pack a big punch.

'Perceptive, funny, forthright, and often alarmingly relatable, I Meant It Once is a tremendously good debut' Claire Lombardo, New York Times bestselling author of The Most Fun We Ever Had

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472158796
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 214 x 134 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A delicate balance of sharp and sweet, I Meant It Once explores longing, belonging and the big emotions that can make us feel small with unusual elegance and depth. Kate Doyle is both a gifted observer of human nature and an original and poetic prose stylist. - Coco Mellors, author of Cleopatra and Frankenstein

Gorgeously written and staggeringly honest, I Meant It Once is a reclamation of female friendship, intellect, rage, desire, and creativity - placing a timeless filter on contemporary questions. It will bewitch you - Tess Gunty, author of The Rabbit Hutch

I Meant it Once signals the arrival of a major talent and voice. These stories are by turns funny, melancholy, wry, and piercing in their insight. More than that, I arrived at the end of each of these stories feeling a little less lonely in a world that seemed a little less dark. Kate Doyle brings a rare confidence to stories about the lonely, the prickly, the aimless, and the out-of-sorts, all told in prose that is lively and beautiful. I loved these stories - Brandon Taylor, author of Booker Prize Finalist Real Life and Story Prize Winner Filthy Animals

Kate Doyle's sentences are something to be savored, and the characters in these stories live and breathe and stand up fully from the page. Perceptive, funny, forthright, and often alarmingly relatable, I Meant It Once is a tremendously good debut. - Claire Lombardo, New York Times bestselling author of The Most Fun We Ever Had

Kate Doyle's gorgeous, electric fiction upends expectations about how stories are told and what exactly needs telling. Lovers and rivals, siblings and friends navigate the funny, strange, sometimes explosive, sometimes transcendently beautiful terrain of love and ambition. These are wise, intimate, essential stories. - Mary-Beth Hughes, author of The Ocean House

Crystalline, funny, and richly alive, the stories in I Meant It Once thrilled me with their emotional acuity, their delicately nuanced portrayals of desire and intimacy, and their formal and syntactical dexterity and play. - Lynn Steger Strong, author of Want and Flight

With I Meant It Once, Kate Doyle proves to be an exciting, fresh, intelligent, unique, poetic and wild new talent. More, the stories feel like dispatches from the front of modernity. This is what it feels like to be here, and young, right now. This is a timely, inspired, great book. - Darin Strauss, author of Half a Life

Kate Doyle's economical and beautiful prose is suffused with a wistful melancholy shot through with wry humor, and we feel her characters' longing as though it is our own. The details are exact, as are the insights; the stories feel utterly real. The result is intimate and propulsive. An exceptional debut. - Cara Blue Adams, author of You Never Get It Back

In this incredible collection, with inventive and beautiful language, Doyle captures the stories of young women who find themselves so close to transformation into a defined version of themselves, one that will lead to a future that will hold them, and she does so with honesty and verve. - Kevin Wilson, bestselling author of Nothing to See Here and Now is Not the Time to Panic

The crystalline stories of I Meant It Once capture the complexities of our most intimate relationships-between partners, friends, family, and with one's self. Kate Doyle is a gifted storyteller, with a highly attuned sense for both language and vulnerability. This collection brims with the aches and longings, those wrenching pangs of emotional resonance, that one searches for in great fiction. - Alexandra Chang, author of Days of Distraction

What's so impressive about Doyle's writing is not only that she manages to express and engage with nebulous and difficult-to-articulate emotional ideas...but that in doing so she also manages to suffuse these apparently anti-plot stories with riveting readability - Irish Times

'I was enraptured by these stories, many of which explore the difficult-to-articulate emotional terrain of early womanhood... Doyle forces us to question why we dismiss young women of this age so readily and at what cost. A brilliant new voice and a subtle inquirer of society. Perfect for fans of Greta Gerwig' - Edel Coffey

EVENT    'I Meant it Once'   by Kate Doyle

EVENT 'I Meant it Once' by Kate Doyle

Dublin - Hodges Figgis
Tuesday 12th March 18:00 - 19:45

Join us for an evening of chat with Edel Coffey (Breaking Point) in conversation with Author Kate Doyle about her new book- 'I Meant It Once' We will be holding the event on Tuesday 12th March at 6pm. All are Welcome!

View

You may also be interested in...

Walk the Blue Fields
Added to basket
Miss Marple and Mystery
Added to basket
Delta of Venus
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Don't Look Now and Other Stories
Added to basket
Cat Stories
Added to basket
The Machine Stops
Added to basket
£3.00
Paperback
Haunted
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Runaway
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Short Stories in German
Added to basket
Night Shift
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Complete Short Stories
Added to basket
Dubliners
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher
Added to basket
The Complete Short Stories
Added to basket

“Enjoyable, Relatable Debut Collection of Short Stories About Family, Relationships and Memory”

Cleverly relatable debut collection of short stories surrounding the lives of women in their twenties.

'I Meant It Once' is not thrilling, not packed with twists and turns, and is pretty uneventful. But... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: