Where the Crawdads Sing (Paperback)
  • Where the Crawdads Sing (Paperback)
zoom

Where the Crawdads Sing (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 28/06/2022

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Character-driven and with an impeccable sense of place and time, Owens's remarkable debut bubbles over with the melting-pot tension of a community beset by tragedy and shaped by the landscape that surrounds it.

Winner of the British Book Awards Pageturner Book of the Year 2021

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say.

Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472157362
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 302 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world - New York Times Book Review

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving - Daily Mail

For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement - The Times

Kya is a compelling character, Owen's descriptive prose is lushly impressive, and the twist in the narrative's tail is neat - Sunday Times Culture

Owens combines high tension with precise detail about how people dress, sound, live and eat - the case studies in her book are both human and natural . . . Surprise bestsellers are often works that chime with the times. Though set in the 1950s and 60s, Where the Crawdads Sing is, in its treatment of racial and social division and the fragile complexities of nature, obviously relevant to contemporary politics and ecology. But these themes will reach a huge audience though the writer's old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape description - the Guardian

For sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath away - The Times (separate review)

All is not as it seems in this heartbreaking coming-of-age bestseller - The i newspaper

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it down - The Lady

The strength of the story comes from the sympathetic portrait of its heroine who cannot fail to captivate, right up until the surprising end - UK Press Association and Independent I

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. - People

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver - Bustle

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist - Refinery29

Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives - Vanity Fair

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. - Entertainment Weekly

A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain-you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely - Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

This is a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story, perfect for book clubs - Candis

A story that's evocative and sad and with a remarkable heroine - Image magazine

I didn't expect such a beautifully-written, gorgeously- immersive literary novel which is also a page-turner. I spun out the last few pages because I didn't want it to end - Bernardine Evaristo, via Twitter

You may also be interested in...

The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One Day
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
House of Flame and Shadow
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

“Breathtaking”

A beautiful story set in the marshlands of North Carolina and one that will stay with you forever. I keep thinking about Kya and the struggle she had to overcome over the years and the prejudice that she faced. The... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 58

“This book will leave sand in your sheets”

3 1/2 rounded down. The first half of this book was glorious, I never wanted it to end. It reminded me of “the girl of the limberlost” but wilder. The descriptions of the marsh and Kya are so rich that you feel water... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 41

“Beautiful and inspiring”

Wow. That’s really all I can say right now. The praise that has been heaped on Owens’ book is extremely deserved. It’s so different from other books of its type.

The use of the split timeline is inspired. We start... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 39

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: