Where the Crawdads Sing (Paperback)
  • Where the Crawdads Sing (Paperback)
zoom

Where the Crawdads Sing (Paperback)

(author)
? RRP £9.99
£7.99
Save £2.00 (20%)
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 12/12/2019
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Character-driven and with an impeccable sense of place and time, Owens's remarkable debut bubbles over with the melting-pot tension of a community beset by tragedy and shaped by the landscape that surrounds it.  

Winner of the British Book Awards Pageturner Book of the Year 2021

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say.

Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472154668
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 126 x 195 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world - New York Times Book ReviewAn Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. - Chris Schluep, Amazon Book ReviewSteeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. - PeopleThis lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver - BustleA nature-infused romance with a killer twist - Refinery29Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving - Daily MailHeart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. - Entertainment WeeklyFor a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement - The Times

Newton Abbot Reading Group - Where the Crawdads Sing

Newton Abbot Reading Group - Where the Crawdads Sing

The Country Table, 7-9 Courtenay Street, Newton Abbot, TQ12 2JW
Wednesday 13th March 09:30 - 10:30

Come along to our relaxed and friendly Newton Abbot reading group. We will be meeting Wednesday 13th March 2024 9.30am at The Country Table (Lite Bites end) to discuss 'Where the Crawdads Sing’ by Delia Owens.

View

You may also be interested in...

One Day
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
This Family
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina Al-Sirafi
Added to basket
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In Memoriam
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Fate Inked in Blood
Added to basket
Empire of the Damned
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Breathtaking”

A beautiful story set in the marshlands of North Carolina and one that will stay with you forever. I keep thinking about Kya and the struggle she had to overcome over the years and the prejudice that she faced. The... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 58

“This book will leave sand in your sheets”

3 1/2 rounded down. The first half of this book was glorious, I never wanted it to end. It reminded me of “the girl of the limberlost” but wilder. The descriptions of the marsh and Kya are so rich that you feel water... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 41

“Beautiful and inspiring”

Wow. That’s really all I can say right now. The praise that has been heaped on Owens’ book is extremely deserved. It’s so different from other books of its type.

The use of the split timeline is inspired. We start... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 39

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: