The Crossed Out Notebook (Hardback)
  • The Crossed Out Notebook (Hardback)
zoom

The Crossed Out Notebook (Hardback)

(author), (translator)
£14.99
Hardback 256 Pages
Published: 03/10/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 4-5 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

'This stylish debut novel by an Oscar-winning Argentine screenwriter (he co-wrote Birdman) is a suspenseful, darkly funny exploration of the creative process and the porous boundary between reality and fiction. Highly recommended' The Mail on Sunday, 'The Best New Fiction'

From the Academy Award-winning co-writer of Birdman, a wonderfully eccentric, suspenseful debut in the tradition of Misery and Kiss of the Spiderwoman about a screenwriter kidnapped by a world-famous director who orders him to compose a masterpiece.

Pablo, a failed Argentine novelist-turned-screenwriter, has been kidnapped by the greatest Latin American film director of all time and is kept in a basement where he works, day after day, on what he is told must at all costs be a great, world-changing screenplay. Every night, after finishing work on the script, Pablo writes in his notebook and every morning he crosses out what he wrote the night before. The Crossed-Out Notebook is Pablo's diary of this time: being brought food by a maid; being threatened with a gun; vociferously arguing with the director about what he's written the previous day.

The clash between the two men and their different approaches leads to a movie being made, a gun going off, an unlikely escape, and a final confrontation. In the end, The Crossed-Out Notebook is a darkly funny novel full of intrigue and surprise about the essence of the creative process; a short, crazy ode to any artist whose brilliance shines through strangeness and adversity.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472154521
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 328 g
Dimensions: 204 x 136 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Nicolas Giacobone has done the impossible. The Crossed-Out Notebook is a meta-fictional page-turner that grapples as much with Beckett as with Pretty Woman, as much with The Beatles as with Fellini. Also hidden in these pages are gems about what it takes to sit down in your pajamas everyday and attempt to put worlds to words. - Daniel Magariel, author of One of the Boys

A deceptively straightforward slack-wire act of a novel that probes the hairline crack between selling art and selling out. - Nell Zink, author of Mislaid

This stylish debut novel by an Oscar-winning Argentine screenwriter (he co-wrote Birdman) is a suspenseful, darkly funny exploration of the creative process and the porous boundary between reality and fiction. Highly recommended - The Mail on Sunday, 'The Best New Fiction'

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Black Bird Oracle
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Antarctica
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: