The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn (Hardback)
  • The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn (Hardback)
zoom

The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£20.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 07/05/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Animal lovers will delight' Ann Granger

'A real treat . . . I loved it. Cats, dogs, murder and a credible and relatable heroine' Barbara Nadel

Clarice Beech has two passions in life: animal rescue and Detective Inspector Rick Beech. She is devoted to the first but she and Rick have been separated for the past six months - life without him is hard.

Clarice shares her other love, for contemporary ceramics, with the charming Lady Vita Fayrepoynt. When Vita's adopted three-legged ginger cat Walter disappears from Weatherby Hall Clarice is called in to find him. Walter, snug in an old barn, is quite well. But his discovery ends with Clarice in hospital, and Rose Miller, late of the Old Vicarage in the morgue. There is nothing natural about Rose's death...

Putting their differences aside, Clarice and Rick are drawn together to try to understand the murder that has shaken the rural Lincolnshire community. As she explores Rose's past Clarice is pulled into a shady world of blackmail, scams and violence. And as the secrets of Weatherby Hall and the Fayrepoynt family threaten to spill out Clarice finds friendships tested, and her own life at risk.

A debut mystery set in the Lincolnshire Wolds, featuring an amateur detective who mixes sleuthing with her other great love: animal rescue. The perfect classic crime mystery for fans of Ann Granger, M. C. Beaton and Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472131737
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 536 g
Dimensions: 236 x 160 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Ideal holiday reading . . . I took a liking to Clarice the moment I knew she adopted feral kittens . . . I do hope Kate High will write more books about Clarice and Rick . . . animal lovers will delight in them -- Ann Granger, author of the Mitchell & Markby and the Campbell & Carter mysteries
A real treat. Cosy but not cosy, I loved it. Cats, dogs, murder, a credible and relatable heroine and a landscape that is new to me -- Barbara Nadel, author of the Inspector Ikmen mysteries

You may also be interested in...

The Postscript Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Windsor Knot
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Protector
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
House of Correction
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Kingdom
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn”

Clarice Beech loves her cats, she rescues and then sets about rehoming them. This, amongst other things out a strain on her marriage and he moved out but she never stopped loving him. One of her rehomed cats has... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“It's highly recommended”

I hope this the first in a series because I thoroughly enjoyed and would be happy to read other stories featuring these characters.
It's an engrossing and entertaining story that kept me hooked and guessing.
I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“A Fabulous Début”

The Cat and the Corpse in the Old Barn is an engaging début that I found very fresh. I really enjoyed the mystery with its copious twists and turns - the developments were well-paced, and the tension really peaked in... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.