The Hunting Season - Daniel Leicester (Paperback)
  • The Hunting Season - Daniel Leicester (Paperback)
zoom

The Hunting Season - Daniel Leicester (Paperback)

(author)
£14.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 05/11/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A cleverly constructed plot, at once romantic and threatening, promotes Tom Benjamin to the first division of crime writers' Daily Mail

'Ideal holiday reading for those pining for the tastes and smells of the Mediterranean' The Herald

'Atmospheric and immersive' M W Craven

'An insider's view of life in the heart of Bologna - I felt transported there. Gripping plot and immersive description' Harriet Tyce

'Outstanding... an essential guide for armchair travellers to Italy' Publishers' Weekly

It's truffle season and in the hills around Bologna the hunt is on for the legendary Boscuri White, the golden nugget of Italian gastronomy. But when an American truffle 'supertaster' goes missing, English detective Daniel Leicester discovers not all truffles are created equal. Did the missing supertaster bite off more than he could chew?

As he goes on the hunt for Ryan Lee, Daniel discovers the secrets behind 'Food City', from the immigrant kitchen staff to the full scale of a multi-million Euro business. After a key witness is found dead at the foot of one of Bologna's famous towers, the stakes could not be higher. Daniel teams up with a glamorous TV reporter, but the deeper he goes into the disappearance of the supertaster the darker things become. Murder is once again on the menu, but this time Daniel himself stands accused. And the only way he can clear his name is by finding Ryan Lee...

Discover Bologna through the eyes of English detective Daniel Leicester as he walks the shadowy porticoes in search of the truth and, perhaps, even gets a little nearer to solving the mystery of Italy itself. A gripping and atmospheric thriller perfect for fans of Donna Leon, Michael Dibdin and Philip Gwynne Jones.

What readers are saying about The Hunting Season:


'Another beautifully written, assured and even read from Benjamin, full of wonderful nuggets of Bolognese history, which oozes class from the get-go' Trevor Wood

'The Hunting Season is another thrilling crime novel from Tom Benjamin, with an intriguing and twisty mystery that unfolds within Benjamin's acutely-observed descriptions of Bologna, its history and its people. Elegant prose, immersive detail and a gripping plot make the Hunting Season a perfectly-balanced crime read. I loved it!' Philippa East

'This second novel in the Daniel Leicester series is just as atmospheric and gripping as the first' Gregory Dowling

'A unique and compelling mystery' Emma Christie

'Loved it - an engaging hero, sharp dialogue and an ingenious plot that grips from the start. It'll make you want to visit' Philip Gwynne Jones

'The Hunting Season distinguishes itself with a dry wit... and its evocative, atmospheric descriptions of Italy' Dundee Courier

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472131591
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 400 g
Dimensions: 232 x 152 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A cleverly constructed plot, at once romantic and threatening, promotes Tom Benjamin to the first division of crime writers * Daily Mail *
The Hunting Season is another thrilling crime novel from Tom Benjamin, with an intriguing and twisty mystery that unfolds within Benjamin's acutely-observed descriptions of Bologna, its history and its people. Elegant prose, immersive detail and a gripping plot make the Hunting Season a perfectly-balanced crime read. I loved it! * Philippa East *
Loved it - an engaging hero, sharp dialogue and an ingenious plot that grips from the start. It'll make you want to visit. * Philip Gwynne Jones *

You may also be interested in...

The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
1979
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Murders at Fleat House
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Annette Librarian

“Gentle mystery!”

This is a gentle mystery set in Italy, Bologna to be precise. Daniel Leicester, a private investigator working for his father in law’s firm, is asked to find missing food and truffle taster Ryan Lee. Ryan’s parents... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Hard to put down!”

Tom Benjamin’s second Daniel Leicester outing was hard to put down. Fast-paced with some real shocks, trademark Italian character, lots of likeable, well-drawn characters and humour make the Hunting Season hard to put... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Brilliant”

Brilliant story and nice depiction of Italian background

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.