Nightshade (Hardback)
  • Nightshade (Hardback)
zoom

Nightshade (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 15/04/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A gripping and darkly atmospheric thriller set in Victorian London, perfect for fans of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, The Strangers Diaries and The Silent Companions.

London, 1851. Restless and bored after a long hot summer, apothecary and poison expert Jem Flockhart decides to redesign her physic garden. But plans are thrown into confusion when a man's skeleton is unearthed from beneath the deadly nightshade, a smaller, child-like skeleton curled at its feet. The body bears evidence of knife wounds to its ribs and arms, and is accompanied by a collection of macabre objects: a brass bowl, a curious coin-like token, a set of tiny ivory sculls.

The police claim the victim is too long-buried for answers to be found, but for Jem, a corpse in her own garden is something that cannot be ignored. The plans to the garden, laid out some forty years earlier, reveal a list of five names. When Jem and Will start asking questions, the murders begin. Each victim has a past connection with the physic garden; each corpse is found with its jaw broken wide and its mouth stuffed with deadly nightshade.

As they move closer to uncovering the truth Jem Flockhart and Will Quartermain encounter a dark world of addiction, madness, power and death that strikes at the very heart of Jem's own history. This time, the poison is personal. . .

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472131522
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 585 g
Dimensions: 238 x 158 x 38 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Edge of the Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Raise an Elephant
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Beautiful Spy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Transient Desires
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Edge of the Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Coffinmaker's Garden
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“I loved it!”

“Nightshade” is the fifth book in author E.S. Thomson’s ‘Jem Flockhart’ series set in Victorian London.
- London, 1851. Apothecary and poison expert Jem Flockhart decides to redesign her physic garden but plans are... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Another glorious trip to dirty, dangerous and evil-smelling 19th century London.”

In the spirit of full disclosure, I’ll admit I was already a fan of E S Thomson’s series of adventures featuring Jem Flockhart even before I picked up her latest, “Nightshade”. The good news is that this is a worthy... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.