Babes in the Wood: The Witches of Woodville 2 (Paperback)
  • Babes in the Wood: The Witches of Woodville 2 (Paperback)
zoom

Babes in the Wood: The Witches of Woodville 2 (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 28/10/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'A young witch to rival Tiffany Aching. Magic!'-FMA Dixon

'ACE. Smart and funny and written so warmly. It's an absolutely smashing read'-Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World

The Witches of Woodville Part 2

July, 1940


In a quiet village in rural Kent, a magical mystery leads to murder . . .

Woodville has returned to 'normal' after the departure of the Crow Folk. The villagers put out fires from aircraft shot down in the Battle of Britain, and Faye Bright discovers that magic can be just as dangerous as any weapon.

The arrival of a trio of Jewish children fleeing the Nazis brings the fight for Europe to the village. When their guardian is found dead, Faye must play nanny to the terrified children while gathering clues to uncover a dark magic that threatens to change the course of the war. And she must do it quickly - the children have seen too much and someone wants them silenced for good.

For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes the second novel in this delightful trilogy of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . .

Don't miss the other magical books in the WITCHES OF WOODVILLE series!
#1 The Crow Folk
#2 Babes in the Wood
#3 The Ghost of Ivy Barn


Praise for The Witches of Woodville series

'Beautiful and engaging and clever and what more could you ask for in a book?'-Manda Scott, bestselling author of A Treachery of Spies

'A young witch to rival Tiffany Aching. Magic!'-FMA Dixon

'ACE. Smart and funny and written so warmly. It's an absolutely smashing read'-Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World

'Swept me straight back to days of losing myself in Diana Wynne Jones novels, and getting lost in truly absorbing, sometimes scary, sometimes emotive adventure with its roots in folklore and history. A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age'-Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window

'A delightful mash-up of Dad's Army and Charmed. An absolute treat'-CK McDonnell, author of Stranger Times

'Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read'-Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries

'You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel Gummidge'-Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village

'A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad's Army meets Witches of Eastwick'-Ian W Sainsbury

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471197994
Number of pages: 416
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 25 mm

You may also be interested in...

Sharpe's Tiger
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Das Boot
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Rifles
Added to basket
Barry Lyndon
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Wounds of Honour: Empire I
Added to basket
The Fort
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Trafalgar
Added to basket
The Iron King
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Triumph
Added to basket
King Solomon's Mines
Added to basket
Sharpe's Eagle
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Fortress
Added to basket
The Mauritius Command
Added to basket
Blue at the Mizzen
Added to basket

“Highly recommended”

I read "The Crow Folk" and fell in love with this series, having a lot of fun and loving the world building and the great characters.
It would be easy to compare Fanny to Tiffany Aching and, even if... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
Kid Ferrous

“A heady mix of magic and World War II”

After reading and enjoying the first book in this series, “The Crow Folk”, in order to get up to speed, I got stuck into “Babes in the Wood” as soon as possible.
Definitely a slow-burn, but none the worse for it,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Magical adventures in WW2”

Babes in the Wood is the second of the Witches of Woodville series by Mark Stay and I enjoyed it even more than the first installment, The Crow Folk.

Babes in the Wood has got it all: plane crash explosions, spies,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.