A Girl Called Joy: Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week (Paperback)
  • A Girl Called Joy: Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week (Paperback)
zoom

A Girl Called Joy: Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99 £5.99
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 29/04/2021
  • Save £1.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'A delight for its warmth and humour, but principally because the writing is alive and stunning.' The Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week.

For readers aged 9+ comes a sparkling new series about family, friends and finding the joy in life! From award-winning author Jenny Valentine, this is the perfect series for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cath Howe and Lara Williamson!


Meet ten-year-old Joy Applebloom, a girl with a knack for finding the silver lining in even the darkest of rainclouds.

After years of travelling the world with her parents and older sister, Claude (Claude rhymes with bored, which is just about right), Joy and her family move to suburbia - back to school, back to her grumpy, rule-obsessed grandad and back to normality.

Joy soon finds her usual irrepressible positivity and zest for life waning, but when the powers that be threaten to pull down a mighty oak tree, Joy decides to fight back, and realizes that not all magic requires wands and spells, and perhaps the most important sort of magic is the power, resilience and courage that was there all along . . .

Includes beautiful illustrations from Claire Lefevre

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471196492
Number of pages: 224
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Over-flowing with good humour * Books For Keeps *
Written with all Valentine's usual skill and empathy we are drawn into the world of Joy and her difficult transition to life without the globe-trotting. The characters are clearly drawn, with an authentic family dynamic. The perfect length for readers enjoying a longer read as their next step. * LoveReading4Kids *
I love Jenny's writing; it's funny, smart and deft, with lots within it to delight the reader. -- Nicola Skinner, author of Bloom
One of the most bright and joyous books I've ever read! It's impossible not to fall in love with Joy and her story - it's just the silver lining we all need right now. -- Benjamin Dean, author of Me, My Dad and the End of the Rainbow
This book [. . .] is a delight for its warmth and humour, but principally because the writing is alive and stunning. * The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week *

You may also be interested in...

Tom Gates 18: Ten Tremendous Tales (HB)
Added to basket
Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising
Added to basket
Escape the Rooms
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Supertato: Bubbly Troubly
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Court of Wings and Ruin
Added to basket
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Witches Steeped in Gold
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
House of Hollow
Added to basket
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Great Godden
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Legendborn
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

“Heart-warming & uplifting”

Joy Applebloom and her family have lived a rather enviable life: travelling the world with her family and being schooled through experiences instead of in a classroom. Joy loves her life, until everything changes... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Delightful MG read”

A heartwarming and uplifting story about finding the silver lining in the toughest of situation. I devoured this book and finished it in a day. It left me feeling very delighted and satisfied. It was quick and simple... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.