Foe (Paperback)
  • Foe (Paperback)
zoom

Foe (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 05/09/2019
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'Reads like a house on fire' - the extraordinary new novel by Iain Reid, the acclaimed author of I'm Thinking of Ending Things

You think you know everything about your life.

Long-married couple Junior and Henrietta live a quiet, solitary life on their farm, where they work at the local feed mill and raise chickens. Their lives are simple, straightforward, uncomplicated.

Until everything you think you know collapses.

Until the day a stranger arrives at their door with alarming news: Junior has been chosen to take an extraordinary journey, a journey across both time and distance, while Hen remains at home. Junior will be gone for years. But Hen won't be left alone.

Who can you trust if you can't even trust yourself?

As the time for his departure draws nearer, Junior finds himself questioning everything about his life - even whether it's really his life at all.

An eerily entrancing page-turner, Foe churns with unease and suspense from the first words to its shocking finale. Perfect for fans of Humans, Westworld and Black Mirror, Foe is a book you will never forget.

*** Praise for FOE ***

'I couldn't put it down. It infected my dreams. A creepy and brilliant book' Zoe Whittall, author of The Best Kind of People

'The narrative is so eerie and disturbing... fuelling the reader's unease; Reid pulls off a wonderful twist in the tail' Guardian

'From the opening page, you'll have an uneasy feeling as you settle into Iain Reid's brilliant new novel.. A masterful and breathtakingly unique read. I can't stop thinking about it ' Amy Stuart, author of Still Mine and Still Water

'Spare, consuming, unforgettable. Foe is a dark arrow from a truly original mind. Page by eerie page, Iain Reid pulls the unknown world out from under you, and leaves you trapped inside a marriage's most haunting question: can I be replaced? This is a book that seeps into your bloodstream - and crowns Iain Reid the king of deadpan, philosophical horror' Claudia Dey, author of Heartbreaker

'Movie producers are simply confirming what the literary community already knows: Iain Reid just might be the most exciting and excitingly unclassifiable author working in Canadian fiction today' - The Globe and Mail (Canada)

'Foe reads like a house on fire, and is almost impossible not to finish in one sitting...an otherworldly hothouse of introversion and fantasy' - The Toronto Star

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471177989
Number of pages: 272
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 19 mm

You may also be interested in...

Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
You and Me on Vacation
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Book of Two Ways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Unsettling and atmospheric”

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a review.

As a big Black Mirror fan, the comparisons made between this book and the hit series had me instantly intrigued. It certainly had the same... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Themes that gnaw at you”

Of all the books I’ve seen compared to Black Mirror, this one comes the closest.

Reading Foe is like walking through a close fog. Unable to see ahead and entirely focused on the step you’re taking right now.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

“this is one of those books that I would love to read again after knowing the full story to look for hidden gems.”

Wow this book was so different. I believed it to be a horror when I picked it up, but boy was I wrong.
Following one POV; Junior. A middle aged man living with his wife, Hen out in the sticks, when one evening he... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.