The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Paperback)
  • The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Paperback)
zoom

The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 31/10/2019
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A wonderful book: Nancy Campbell is a fine storyteller with a rare physical intelligence. The extraordinary brilliance of her eye confers the reader a total immersion in the rimy realms she explores. Glaciers, Arctic floe, verglas, frost and snow - I can think of no better or warmer guide to the icy ends of the Earth' Dan Richards, author of Climbing Days
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its stark, rugged beauty, acclaimed poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world's northernmost museum - at Upernavik in Greenland - to explore it in all its facets. From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change.

The Library of Ice is a fascinating and beautifully rendered evocation of the interplay of people and their environment on a fragile planet, and of a writer's quest to define the value of her work in a disappearing landscape.

'The writer and poet offers reflections on ice and snow that draw on art, science and history... a dreamlike book.' - The Guardian

'It is a sparkling and wonderful meditation on a substance we must cherish' - The Independent

'It is a pleasant brew infused with elements not only of travel and history, but also of memoir and personal reflection'- Literary Review

'Ms Campbell, a penniless but intrepid traveller, braves miserable bus journeys, freezing rain, dark and intense cold, but still manages to write rapturously of the beauties of the Arctic'- The Economist

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471169342
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 20 mm

You may also be interested in...

Failures of State
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
In the Thick of It
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.99
Hardback
Women Don't Owe You Pretty
Added to basket
Becoming
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Adventures Of The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
The Anarchy
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Many Different Kinds of Love
Added to basket
Prince Philip Revealed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
A Bit of a Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Life Lessons
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time
Added to basket
Motherwell
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Red Prince
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Perfect travel through ice...”

The book format in “ Library of Ice “ is part memoir, part scientific and part cultural. It takes us through the settlements and cultures of Greenland, history and science behind ice and Arctic. We travel to ice... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

“Travels in search of Ice fact and fiction”

This book is something of a mixed bag whilst generally well written (sometimes over-reliant on quotes from others) this book presents the results of the 7 year wanderings of this artist. The book is extremely wide... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“Icy and beautiful.”

Nancy Campbell brings a poet's touch to nature writing, and it shows. Lyrical, poetic, lofty prose accompanies a thorough investigation into ice, snow and cold climates punctured throughout with flakes of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.