The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Hardback)
  • The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Hardback)
zoom

The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 01/11/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A wonderful book: Nancy Campbell is a fine storyteller with a rare physical intelligence. The extraordinary brilliance of her eye confers the reader a total immersion in the rimy realms she explores. Glaciers, Arctic floe, verglas, frost and snow - I can think of no better or warmer guide to the icy ends of the Earth' Dan Richards, author of Climbing Days
A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.

Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its stark, rugged beauty, acclaimed poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world's northernmost museum - at Upernavik in Greenland - to explore it in all its facets. From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change.

The Library of Ice is a fascinating and beautifully rendered evocation of the interplay of people and their environment on a fragile planet, and of a writer's quest to define the value of her work in a disappearing landscape.

'The writer and poet offers reflections on ice and snow that draw on art, science and history... a dreamlike book.' - The Guardian

'It is a sparkling and wonderful meditation on a substance we must cherish' - The Independent

'It is a pleasant brew infused with elements not only of travel and history, but also of memoir and personal reflection'- Literary Review

'Ms Campbell, a penniless but intrepid traveller, braves miserable bus journeys, freezing rain, dark and intense cold, but still manages to write rapturously of the beauties of the Arctic'- The Economist




'The Library of Ice instantly transported me elsewhere... This luminous book is both beautifully written and astute in its observations, turning the pages of time backwards and revealing, like the archive of the earth's climate stored in layers of solidified water, the embedded meanings of the world's icy realms. It is a book as urgently relevant as it is wondrous' Julian Hoffman, author of The Heart of Small Things

'An extraordinary work not only for the perspicacity and innate experience of the author who leads the reader carefully across intertwined icy tracks of crystallised geographics, melting myths and frozen exploration histories, but through her own tender diagnostics of what reading ice can show us in these times ... Perilous in its scope, exacting in its observation, wild in intellect, The Library of Ice captures the reader's attention almost as if caught in ice itself' MacGillivray, author of The Nine of Diamonds: Sorroial Mordantless

'This is travel writing to be treasured. A biography of ice, the element that has another life, with hard facts thawed and warmed by a poet's voice. Campbell's writing is companionable, curious, deeply researched and with no bragging about the intrepidity that has taken her between winter-dark Greenland, Polar libaries, Scottish curling rinks, Alpine glaciers and Henry Thoreau's pond at Walden' Jasper Winn, author of Paddle

'The is not one inelegant or flabby line in the 300 pages of the best writing I have relished this year. W.G. Sebald would have loved, envied and recognised a fellow spirit.' Horatio Clare, The Spectator

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471169311
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 24 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Furious Method
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Becoming
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
Women Don't Owe You Pretty
Added to basket
How Animals Saved My Life: Being the Supervet
Added to basket
My Life in Red and White
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Tomorrow Will Be A Good Day
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
A Promised Land
Added to basket
£35.00   £17.50
Hardback
A Year at the Chateau
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Greenlights
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
A Life on Our Planet
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Secret Barrister
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Between the Stops
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Once Upon a Tyne
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Let's Do It: The Authorised Biography of Victoria Wood
Added to basket
Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me
Added to basket
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Perfect travel through ice...”

The book format in “ Library of Ice “ is part memoir, part scientific and part cultural. It takes us through the settlements and cultures of Greenland, history and science behind ice and Arctic. We travel to ice... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

“Travels in search of Ice fact and fiction”

This book is something of a mixed bag whilst generally well written (sometimes over-reliant on quotes from others) this book presents the results of the 7 year wanderings of this artist. The book is extremely wide... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Icy and beautiful.”

Nancy Campbell brings a poet's touch to nature writing, and it shows. Lyrical, poetic, lofty prose accompanies a thorough investigation into ice, snow and cold climates punctured throughout with flakes of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.