The Vanishing (Paperback)
  • The Vanishing (Paperback)
zoom

The Vanishing (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 25/01/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Expected to be dispatched within 6-8 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

On top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester.

When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape...

Already a Sunday Times bestselling author with her first novel, The Vanishing confirms Sophia Tobin as a rising star. Stunning, twisting historical fiction for fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471151620
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 315 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘The plot twists with admirable zest… Entertaining’  - The Times

‘Layer upon layer of increasingly fevered intrigue, and just when you think you can guess where this story is going, it takes a turn for the unexpected… undeniably page-turning’ - Mail on Sunday

‘Atmosphere aplenty and some real surprises’  - Daily Mail

‘Tobin writes with brio and the narrative carries the reader briskly along. The plotting is skilful, with a network of lies being woven so that no one, characters or readers, can be sure of the truth’  - Daily Express

‘Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but 10 times darker, and you have The Vanishing…One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night’ - Stylist

‘A thrilling atmospheric page-turner in which madness threatens to unhinge the protagonists’  - Metro

'There is a Jane Eyre feel to The Vanishing by Sophia Tobin' - Good Housekeeping

‘Tobin, an antiques specialist-turned-novelist, has created a vivid sense of the period she is writing about, which stays with the reader long after the final page’  - the i

‘An atmospheric historical novel that echoes Wuthering Heights with its Yorkshire Moors setting and sense of intrigue' - RED

'The Vanishing is a pitch perfect evocation of a classic nineteenth century Gothic novel which confirms Sophia Tobin as a writer of the highest calibre' - William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier

'I found it so compelling that I couldn’t wait to go back to it and really wanted to read it curled up on the sofa by a roaring fire on a dark and stormy night. Definitely reminiscent of the Brontës – a cross between Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights’ - Susan Elliot Wright

‘It compels the reader with the poignancy and drama so loved in the novels of Wilkie Collins. The beauty of the writing sings throughout. A splendid and accomplished literary page turner’  - Kate Mayfield

You may also be interested in...

Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
London
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Leilah at Doncaster

“Secrets, servitude and psychosis.”

When a book arrives with comparisons to ‘Jane Eyre’, ‘Fingersmith’, ‘The Miniaturist’ and ‘Burial Rites’, it is certain to grab my attention. Add in the deeply familiar landscape of the Yorkshire Moors and I’m sold... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 76

“A great read for fans of historical and gothic fiction!”

I was so excited when I first saw this was coming out as I love historical fiction. This has been marketed as perfect for fans of The Miniaturist and Jane Eyre and I couldn’t agree more! Tobin writes the perfect... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 71

“A tale of madness, love and revenge”

Annaleigh Calvert has to leave behind all she has ever known in London and travel to Yorkshire. There, at White Windows, nestled on the Moors, she is to be the housekeeper to the Twentymans, Marcus, the lonesome... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 47

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: