Only on the Weekends (Paperback)
  • Only on the Weekends (Paperback)
zoom

Only on the Weekends (Paperback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 528 Pages
Published: 24/05/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Mack finds himself caught in the most awkward of love triangles in this gloriously entertaining queer romance from the author of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted The Black Flamingo.

Mack never thought he'd find love, but now two boys want to be with him. Will he choose Karim or Finlay? And can true love last for ever? A must-read queer love story for fans of Sarah Crossan and Sex Education, written in verse by Dean Atta.

Fifteen-year-old Mack is a hopeless romantic - he blames the films he's grown up watching. He has liked Karim for as long as he can remember, and is ecstatic when Karim becomes his boyfriend - it feels like love.

But when Mack's dad gets a job on a film in Scotland, Mack has to move, and soon he discovers how painful love can be. It's horrible being so far away from Karim, but the worst part is that Karim doesn't make the effort to visit. Love shouldn't be only on the weekends.

Then, when Mack meets actor Finlay on a film set, he experiences something powerful, a feeling like love at first sight. How long until he tells Karim - and when will his old life and new life collide?

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444960563
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

full of tender truths on the joy and agony of first love - The Observer

You may also be interested in...

A Tempest of Tea
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Dark Stands Still
Added to basket
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 5
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The perfect follow up to the Black Flamingo!”

I don’t usually read books written in verse, but last year I took a chance on the Black Flamingo, and absolutely loved it. As soon as I saw that Dean Atta was coming out with a new book, Only on the Weekends, I knew I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12
james_reads_books

“A wonderful, yet new direction for Atta (ooh or ‘Atta-boy they’ve done it again!’)”

Anyone who has been here a while knows my unending adoration for Atta’s debut novel, The Black Flamingo. Thanks to the shop, I read an early proof and still have trauma flashbacks to gushing excessively to the author... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Not my cup of tea.”

I loved The Black Flamingo, so when I saw that Dean Atta had published another book, I couldn't wait to get it!

However, I am so bumped about the fact that I didn't enjoy this one very much.

I didn't... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: