Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet: Book 1 - Planet Omar (Paperback)
  • Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet: Book 1 - Planet Omar (Paperback)
zoom

Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet: Book 1 - Planet Omar (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 224 Pages
Published: 18/04/2019
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?).

My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends. What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target.

At least Eid's around the corner which means a feast (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). Well, as long as I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough...

The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid.

*Zanib Mian is a World Book Day author for 2021 with her Planet Omar title, Operation Kind.*

Chosen as the CBBC Book of the Month for June 2019.

Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018. The text has been revised, expanded with new scenes and re-illustrated.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444951226
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 198 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Zanib Mian is a properly brilliant and funny new voice in children's fiction - Booktrust

Big-hearted, funny and very entertaining - The Bookseller

The real pleasure of this book is Omar - his imagination, the pleasure he finds in ordinary things, his infectious zest for life make this irresistible reading. - Love Reading 4 Kids

A graphic chapter book in the style of the Tom Gates or Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, Planet Omar takes in all sorts of issues, from dealing with school bullies and prejudice, especially against Omar's Muslim family, to forming new friendships and adjusting to change. Humorous, with a light touch. - The Guardian

Recommended by the 'Reading Well for children' programme. This provides quality-assured information, stories and advice to support children's mental health and wellbeing. Books have been chosen and recommended by leading health professionals and co-produced with children and families - The Reading Agency

You may also be interested in...

Dog Man 8: Fetch-22 (PB)
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
How to Train Your Dragon
Added to basket
For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
War Horse
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Day I Fell Down the Toilet
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Cat Kid Comic Club
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
Charlotte's Web
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days (Book 4)
Added to basket

“LOVE LOVE LOVE”

Absolutely loved this book as an adult, and have already passed it around for the kids to read. It's just such a funny, warm and relevant story. This is about a boy and his family w scientist parents who... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 30

“Better than Wimpy Kid or Tom Gates”

This book should be in every classroom in every primary school. Previously published as The Muslims, it has been republished with illustrations and highlighted words, like Tom Gates/wimpy kid but better. I was lucky... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Bursting with imagination and humour. Ideal for reluctant readers”

This is a superb book for children aged 6+ and could be used throughout KS2. I imagine it will be particularly effective for engaging reluctant readers due to the oodles of fun illustration and buckets of humour that... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: