The Black Flamingo (Paperback)
  • The Black Flamingo (Paperback)
zoom

The Black Flamingo (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 05/03/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Big hearted and dizzyingly flamboyant, Atta’s verse novel about a black gay teen reclaiming his identity as a drag artist is an outspoken triumph from the opening couplet to the last.

This is not about being ready, it's not even about being fierce, or fearless, it's about being free.

Michael waits in the stage wings, wearing a pink wig, pink fluffy coat and black heels.

One more step will see him illuminated by spotlight.

He has been on a journey of bravery to get here, and he is almost ready to show himself to the world in bold colours ...

Can he emerge as The Black Flamingo?

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444948608
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 298 g
Dimensions: 194 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Celebratory and passionate, Atta's bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth' - The Guardian 

'The short lines give Michael's story an epigrammatic quality and an urgent pace that is deeply involving.' - The Financial Times 

'A novel told in beautifully-written verse...an uplifting coming of age story' - The Independent 

'A powerful and revealing young adult novel...bold, tender and full of blossoming moments of heartache and joy' - Attitude 

'One of poetry's greatest modern voices...The Black Flamingo is a powerful coming-of-age story about finding who you are, all told in beautifully-written verse...with an overarching message of embracing who you are and showing your true colours in the world that often imposes mundanity, it's a book that anyone can appreciate' - Gay Times 

You may also be interested in...

Sonnets
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
Red, Cherry Red
Added to basket
£8.99
Hardback
When the World Didn't End: Poems
Added to basket
Where The Heart Should Be
Added to basket
Only on the Weekends
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Teen Instagram Poetry Collection
Added to basket
The Dark Lady
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Black Flamingo
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Long Way Down
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Jamakespeare
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
What Is Poetry?
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Run, Rebel
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Change Is Gonna Come
Added to basket
She is Fierce
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Watch Us Rise
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
She is Fierce
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback

“Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan”

Thank you to the publishers for this review copy.
I do rather like a novel written as poetry. An excellent book to spark discussions, break down barriers, open peoples eyes to other lives.
Perfect for fans of Sarah... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Moving, poetic exploration of identity and coming of age”

Dean Atta is best known as a performance poet, so it was perhaps inevitable that his first turn to fiction would be in the form of a poetic novel. The Black Flamingo is a continuous story told in verse, its discrete... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“Fabulous!”

Bold, beautiful and empowering. I loved the way that this was written, and I'm really looking forward to seeing the fully illustrated version when it's published. A must read for everyone about being your... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.