The Black Flamingo (Paperback)
  • The Black Flamingo (Paperback)
zoom

The Black Flamingo (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 05/03/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

"Intensely moving and heart-warming" Cosmo
"Bold" Guardian
"I loved every word" Malorie Blackman


This is not about being ready, it's not even about being fierce, or fearless, IT'S ABOUT BEING FREE.

Michael waits in the stage wings, wearing a pink wig, pink fluffy coat and black heels.

One more step will see him illuminated by spotlight.

He has been on a journey of bravery to get here, and he is almost ready to show himself to the world in bold colours ...

Can he emerge as The Black Flamingo?


WINNER OF THE STONEWALL BOOK AWARD

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444948608
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 298 g
Dimensions: 194 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A moving coming-of-age story, written with heart and panache * Irish Independent *
A very modern masterpiece * The Guyliner *
The Black Flamingo is the book I wish I had when I was younger ... joyful, emotional and full of depth -- Travis Alabanza * performance artist and poet *
A bold and joyous hymn to self-discovery and acceptance * The Bookseller *
Dean Atta's tender coming of age novel casts a fresh and enriching perspective on what it means to be seen as different at the level of race, culture, identity, heritage and gender ... an important book for young people -- Malika Booker * Poet *
YA Panel with David Levithan, Alice Oseman, Dean Atta and Ryan La Sala

YA Panel with David Levithan, Alice Oseman, Dean Atta and Ryan La Sala

Glasgow - Sauchiehall Street
Friday 28th February 19:00

Join four YA fiction writers as they come together to discuss their latest books, friendship, romance, adventure, survival and everything else in-between.

View

You may also be interested in...

What Is Poetry?
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Red, Cherry Red
Added to basket
£8.99
Hardback
The Dark Lady
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Black Flamingo
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Run, Rebel
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Long Way Down
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Traffick
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Sonnets
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
The Dark Lady
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
She is Fierce
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Watch Us Rise
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
She is Fierce
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
A Change Is Gonna Come
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan”

Thank you to the publishers for this review copy.
I do rather like a novel written as poetry. An excellent book to spark discussions, break down barriers, open peoples eyes to other lives.
Perfect for fans of Sarah... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Fabulous!”

Bold, beautiful and empowering. I loved the way that this was written, and I'm really looking forward to seeing the fully illustrated version when it's published. A must read for everyone about being your... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Moving, poetic exploration of identity and coming of age”

Dean Atta is best known as a performance poet, so it was perhaps inevitable that his first turn to fiction would be in the form of a poetic novel. The Black Flamingo is a continuous story told in verse, its discrete... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.