Alice and the Fly (Paperback)
  • Alice and the Fly (Paperback)
zoom

Alice and the Fly (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 27/08/2015
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Powerful' Closer

'A darkly quirky story of love, obsession and fear . . . a beautiful story hung around the enchanting and heartbreaking voice of teenager Greg' Anna James

Miss Hayes has a new theory. She thinks my condition's caused by some traumatic incident from my past I keep deep-rooted in my mind. As soon as I come clean I'll flood out all these tears and it'll all be ok and I won't be scared of Them anymore.

The truth is I can't think of any single traumatic childhood incident to tell her. I mean, there are plenty of bad memories - Herb's death, or the time I bit the hole in my tongue, or Finners Island, out on the boat with Sarah - but none of these are what caused the phobia. I've always had it. It's Them.

I'm just scared of Them. It's that simple.

For fans of Sarah Winman, Junot Diaz and Maria Semple, Alice and the Fly is an unforgettable book about phobias and obsessions, isolation and dark corners, families, friendships, and carefully preserved secrets. But above everything else it's about love. Finding love - in any of its forms - and nurturing it.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444790092
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
One of the most stunning debuts I've read in a long time. The talent behind it is huge. -- Helen Walsh, author of The Lemon Grove
'Alice and the Fly is a darkly quirky story of love, obsession and fear. A disconcerting but beautiful story hung around the enchanting and heartbreaking voice of teenager Greg.' -- Anna James, The Bookseller

You may also be interested in...

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Book of Form and Emptiness
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Great Circle
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Matrix
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“A Great Debut!”

This novel is about family, friendship, obsessions and carefully kept secrets. Greg just wants to fit in, can he and at what cost? This is funny, heartwarming and heartbreaking and deals with mental illness in a... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 89
Leilah at Doncaster

“An astonishing debut!”


‘Oh what a tangled web we weave, When first we practise to deceive!’ – Sir Walter Scott.

There is a lot of deception in James Rice’s incredible debut. There’s the middle class family hiding their tracks from the... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 70

“Heart-breaking & disturbing. An amazing debut!”

This is a very cleverly written novel that deals with mental health issues and the effects it has on the sufferer, Greg, and his family and world around him as his paranoia and obsessions spiral out of control. At the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 51

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.