Ts&Cs apply
The Undesired (Paperback)
  • The Undesired (Paperback)
zoom

The Undesired (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 02/06/2016
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

A chilling modern horror novel from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award - perfect for fans of Let the Right One In.

The light spilling in from the corridor would have to do. Though weak, it was sufficient to show Aldís a boy sitting in the gloom at the furthest table. He had his back to her, so she couldn't see who it was, but could tell that he was one of the youngest. A chill ran down her spine when he spoke again, without turning, as if he had eyes in the back of his head. 'Go away. Leave me alone.'

'Come on. You shouldn't be here.' Aldís spoke gently, fairly sure now that the boy must be delirious. Confused, rather than dangerous.

He turned, slowly and deliberately, and she glimpsed black eyes in a pale face. 'I wasn't talking to you.'

Aldis is working in a juvenile detention centre in rural Iceland. She witnesses something deeply disturbing in the middle of the night; soon afterwards, two of the boys at the centre are dead.

Decades later, single father Odinn is looking into alleged abuse at the centre following the unexplained death of the colleague who was previously running the investigation. The more he finds out, though, the more it seems the odd events of the 1970s are linked to the accident that killed his ex-wife. Was her death something more sinister?

Yrsa Sigurdardottir is a huge European bestseller both with her crime and horror novels. You might want to sleep with the light on after reading THE UNDESIRED . . .

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444778304
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 261 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Yrsa Sigurdardottir's chillers get better and better. I REMEMBER YOU is a truly creepy combination of haunted house story and modern detection in Iceland. - Sunday Telegraph. . . A chiller-thriller of immense scariness . . . Not to be read alone after dark. - The Times on I REMEMBER YOUExpertly woven together, with plenty of cliffhangers and perfect control of the macabre mood: intriguing, entertaining, and very spooky indeed. - Laura Wilson, Guardian on I REMEMBER YOUGenuinely bone-chilling, and proves that as well as being the queen of Icelandic crime fiction, Sigurdardottir is a supreme generator of fear . . . (she) is clearly relishing the business of scaring our pants off. - Independent on I REMEMBER YOUSigurdardottir intertwines these plotlines brilliantly and the two creepy strands gradually tighten together to really give the reader the heebie-jeebies. The author comes from a crime and thriller background and you can tell: there are cliff-hangers at the end of almost every chapter and she expertly ramps up the feeling of dread as the plot accelerates and all in the book find themselves in mortal danger. - Big Issue on I REMEMBER YOUA chilling read, perfect for a dark night. - Daily Express on I REMEMBER YOU

You may also be interested in...

Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Kamogawa Food Detectives
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: