Original Sins: Riley Fisher Book 2 - Riley Fisher (Hardback)
  • Original Sins: Riley Fisher Book 2 - Riley Fisher (Hardback)
zoom

Original Sins: Riley Fisher Book 2 - Riley Fisher (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£20.00
Hardback 352 Pages
Published: 07/03/2024
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Bold, gritty and deeply immersive, the compelling plotline, richly drawn characters and authentic sense of place wrapped up in taut heartfelt prose, drew me in and had me racing through the pages well into the night. A stunning and hugely suspenseful follow up to The Fields' AA Chaudhuri, author of The Final Party ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

It's a brutal winter in Des Moines, Iowa, and the city is gripped by fear. A serial attacker known as the Sin Eater is stalking women and has just struck again. It's a tough time and a tough place for Riley Fisher, a former small-town sergeant, to be reporting for duty as an FBI agent on her first assignment.

Teamed with a man she's not sure she can trust and struggling to prove herself - while fighting the pull of her old life and family dramas - Riley is tasked with investigating a vicious death threat against the newly elected female state governor. Gradually, she traces a disturbing connection between this case and the hunt for the Sin Eater. Through snow, ice, violence and lies, Riley Fisher is drawn towards a terrifying revelation.

Erin Young follows up her acclaimed crime debut, The Fields, which has drawn comparisons with Mare of Easttown, Silence of the Lambs and True Detective, with another stunning thriller full of dark menace and suspense.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444777819
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 580 g
Dimensions: 236 x 162 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for The Fields:

The sharp prose and explosive plot immediately drew me in, but the richly textured exploration of life in rural America stayed with me long after I finished. This is a classic crime series in the making - Cristina Alger, bestselling author of Girls Like Us

Loved the vivid sense of place. Hints of True Detective & The Silence of the Lambs. EXCELLENT - Will Dean, bestselling author of The Last Thing to Burn

Young delivers a disturbing, twist-riddled thriller stocked with well-drawn characters - Publishers Weekly

[A] well-crafted procedural . . . vivid portraits of Black Hawk's denizens provide a compelling draw. - Booklist

Praise for Original Sins:

This book will chill you to the bone. So atmospheric I feel like I've actually been to Des Moines. A complex, tense, dark thriller with a cop to root for and a killer to fear. So good! - Araminta Hall

The Fields was an assured and thought provoking debut, but with Original Sins Erin Young takes the authenticity and pacing of her story telling to a new level. This book is both meticulously researched and enthralling. - Anthony Riches

A meticulously plotted police procedural that absolutely has it all: an icy setting in rural Iowa, a timely political backdrop... and one of the most chilling villains I've read in recent history. This book is perfect for fans of Tana French. - Stacy Willingham, New York Times bestselling author of A Flicker in the Dark

. . . intricate plotting, breakneck pacing - and, in FBI agent Riley Fisher, a compelling heroine you'll not soon forget. - Wendy Walker, author of What Remains

Bold, gritty and deeply immersive, the compelling plotline, richly drawn characters and authentic sense of place wrapped up in taut heartfelt prose, drew me in and had me racing through the pages well into the night. A stunning and hugely suspenseful follow up to The Fields. - AA Chaudhuri, author of The Final Party

Original Sins is compelling from the first page to the last, dealing with important and challenging issues through a propulsive, edge-of-the-seat narrative. A brilliant thriller, and Young's superb writing on every page, along with her engaging cast of characters, lifts the novel into a class of its own. - Marina Palmer, author of The Russian Doll

A proper cinematic thriller! - Tariq Ashkanani, author of Follow Me to the Edge

Incredible. A chilling, terrifyingly plausible and white-knuckle of a thriller. Erin Young's masterful writing makes you not only feel you've been airdropped into Des Moines but that the horrors that unfold are happening around you - Graham Bartlett

a high-octane, ardently feminist thriller - Publishers Weekly

A totally fresh take on the FBI procedural, ORIGINAL SINS is beautifully written and utterly absorbing - an absolute must-read - Kevin Wignall, author of A Death in Sweden

An intoxicating, atmospheric and tense thriller that compels you from the first page - Nadine Matheson, author of The Jigsaw Man

Horrifyingly compelling, ingeniously twisted, each character, every plot turn meticulously crafted. Forensic knowledge of middle America & pitch perfect detail. Brilliant - Sarah Sultoon, author of Death Flight

Erin Young knocks it out of the park with this one - HB Lyle, author of Spy Hunter

Dark, menacingly atmospheric and characters that vibrate off the page. At times poetic, I loved ORIGINAL SINS. Riley Fisher just might be my favourite ever detective! - Rachel Wolf, author of Five Nights

A nimble, assured thriller - New York Times

You may also be interested in...

A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Year of the Locust
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Skeleton Key
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback

“Tense and emotional.”

I loved The Fields so was very much looking forward to Original Sins and it did not disappoint.

Riley is back, starring out with the FBI and immediately facing all kinds of problems. The narrative is tense,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A great read!”

This was a fantastic read that I really enjoyed. I might have enjoyed it more if I had read the first book in the series and knew more about Riley but I didn’t realise there’d been one. The writing style was... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: