Mister Memory (Hardback)
  • Mister Memory (Hardback)
zoom

Mister Memory (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£17.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 14/07/2016
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

In Paris, at the end of the nineteenth century, a man with a perfect memory murders his wife. But that is only the start of the story... A dazzling literary mystery from prizewinning author Marcus Sedgwick.

Paris, 1899. Marcel Despres is arrested for the murder of his wife and transferred to the famous Salpetriere asylum. And there the story might have stopped.

But the doctor assigned to his care soon realises this is no ordinary patient: Marcel Despres, Mister Memory, is a man who cannot forget. And the policeman assigned to his case soon realises that something else is at stake: for why else would the criminal have been hurried off to hospital, and why are his superiors so keen for the whole affair to be closed?

This crime involves something bigger and stranger than a lovers' fight - something with links to the highest and lowest establishments in France. The policeman and the doctor between them must unravel the mystery... but the answers lie inside Marcel's head. And how can he tell what is significant when he remembers every detail of every moment of his entire life?

For fans of Scarlett Thomas, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Patrick Suskind, this is a captivating literary mystery about memory, history and fate.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444751987
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 574 g
Dimensions: 239 x 161 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Brilliantly maintains tension and mystery on every page of this highly original story * Daily Mail *
A cut above the usual crime novel...a beautifully written tale of the limitlessness of memory and the boundaries placed on love -- Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill
Brilliantly maintains tension and mystery on every page of this highly original story * Daily Mail *
This is a clever, fascinating and quite riveting story which poses as many questions as it answers. * Crime Review *
A cut above the usual crime novel...a beautifully written tale of the limitless of memory and the boundaries placed on love -- Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill
This macabre fantasy follows a trail of blood across Europe over 50 years...Stylish, thrilling and fast, you needn't be a horror fan to enjoy this. * Sunday Mirror on A LOVE LIKE BLOOD *
Classy, elegant and gripping... A novel for a chilly night with a cup of tea and a warm blanket where you start reading and then go on and on, unable to stop. -- John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In on A LOVE LIKE BLOOD

You may also be interested in...

The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Grove of the Caesars
Added to basket
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Art of Dying
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Liar
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Tombland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
The Burial Circle
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Net for Small Fishes
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
A Gambling Man
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Nod
Added to basket
Nod
£8.99
Paperback
The Drowned City
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“Mystery about memory and fate.....”

This wonderfully intriguing mystery story starts in Paris at the end of the 19th century, Marcel a man with a perfect memory murders his wife.
Marcel's doctor and policeman assigned to the case try to unravel... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 66

“Captivating”

This story brings into question how you would feel if you were guilty of something that you have no recollection of. We've all had those journey's when we don't remember driving home but murdering your... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.