Ts&Cs apply
The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6 - Thora Gudmundsdottir (Paperback)
  • The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6 - Thora Gudmundsdottir (Paperback)
zoom

The Silence of the Sea: Thora Gudmundsdottir Book 6 - Thora Gudmundsdottir (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 26/03/2015
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

WINNER OF THE 2015 PETRONA AWARD
A Sunday Times '100 best crime novels and thrillers since 1945' pick!

The most chilling novel yet from the Queen of Nordic Noir, not to be missed for fans of Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.

'Mummy dead.' The child's pure treble was uncomfortably clear. It was the last thing Brynjar - and doubtless the others - wanted to hear at that moment. 'Daddy dead.' It got worse. 'Adda dead. Bygga dead.' The child sighed and clutched her grandmother's leg. 'All dead.'

A luxury yacht arrives in Reykjavik harbour with nobody on board. What has happened to the crew, and to the family who were on board when it left Lisbon?

Thora Gudmundsdottir is hired by the young father's parents to investigate, and is soon drawn deeper into the mystery. What should she make of the rumours saying that the vessel was cursed, especially given that when she boards the yacht she thinks she sees one of the missing twins? Where is Karitas, the glamorous young wife of the yacht's former owner? And whose is the body that has washed up further along the shore?

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444734485
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 283 g
Dimensions: 198 x 157 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A corker of a locked-room mystery, with one of the most dramatic twists in recent crime fiction. - The Sunday Times

Iceland's answer to Stieg Larsson. - Daily Telegraph

Yrsa is one of the most exciting new voices in the crime thriller world. - Peter James

A gripping thriller with enough mystery and horror to keep you sitting on the edge of your seat while you try to work out what happened. - Peter Robinson

You may also be interested in...

The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Waiting
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
@Gavin_Dimmock

“I loved it and urge you all to visit Sigurðardóttir’s Iceland”

A fab read, intelligently written and well paced. A cracker.

A luxury yacht sets sail from Lisbon with three crew members and a family of four on board. It is not seen or heard from again until it crashes into... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 65

“A gripping read!”

Make sure that you can stay in most, if not the whole day in order to read this book! Once started, it is impossible to put it down.
At a first glance you might think this is the usual locked room mystery - how wrong!... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 32

“Rather strange book”

This was a review copy from a magazine.
Never heard of the author before, the blurb looked great. Claimed to be Iceland's answer to Stieg Larsson. Although I don't think it is.
Story line was gripping,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: