Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery (Hardback)
  • Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery (Hardback)
zoom

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder: An Inquirers Mystery (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 13/05/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'The most fun I've had with a book this year. Every page is a delight' Stuart Turton, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

They were a band of mysterious private detectives who lived beneath the streets of London in a labyrinth of twisted tunnels and ancient hallways, the entrance to which no one had ever found...

London, 1958:

Elaborately disguised and hidden deep beneath the city's streets lies the world of Miss Brickett's, a secret detective agency. From traversing deceptive escape rooms full of baited traps and hidden dangers, to engineering almost magical mechanical gadgets, apprentice detectives at Miss Brickett's undergo rigorous training to equip them with the skills and knowledge they will need to solve the mysteries that confound London's police force.

But nothing can prepare 23-year-old apprentice Marion Lane for what happens after the arrest of her friend and mentor, Frank, on suspicion of murder: he tasks Marion with clearing his name and saving his life. Her investigation will place Marion and her friends in great peril as they venture into the forbidden maze of uncharted tunnels that surround Miss Brickett's. Being discovered out of bounds means immediate dismissal, but that is the least of Marion's problems when she discovered that the tunnels contain more than just secrets...

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder is the first installation in a fantastical historical mystery series for fans of Stuart Turton's The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and Natasha Pulley's The Watchmaker of Filigree Street.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409196631
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The most fun I've had with a book this year. Every page is a delight, the worldbuilding is wonderful, and the mystery got its hooks into me from the first chapter * Stuart Turton, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle *
Crackles with invention and surprise-the wondrous gadgetry, the moody settings, the endearing heroine and the struggles she's endured-and Willberg weaves it all together around a perfectly puzzling locked-room whodunnit * Matthew Sullivan, author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore *
A tantalizing, steampunk-flavored mystery... Delicious fun! * Helene Wecker, author of The Golem and the Jinni *

You may also be interested in...

The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Corruption of Blood
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
The Consequences of Fear
Added to basket
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Edge of the Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Comedy of Terrors
Added to basket

“Gothic Mystery”

I absolutely adored this book and devoured every moment. From the opening chapter (what a way to start) I was hooked, I just loved everything about it, the dark, gothic atmosphere and the wonderful characters. Marion... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Fabulously fun murder mystery!”

This is not your standard murder mystery detective novel, which is what I was expecting. This is a lot more fun and extremely creative.

Set in London in 1958, there is an underground labyrinth of corridors... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Can't wait to read the second instalment”

If you are looking for a welcome distraction and a bit of fun then "Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder" by TA Willberg is the book for you. At times it does read like a young adult book, and I can't... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.