The Jane Austen Society (Hardback)
  • The Jane Austen Society (Hardback)
zoom

The Jane Austen Society (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£20.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 28/05/2020
  • Not available

Currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Sweet, smart escapism' People magazine

'Fans of Pride and Prejudice will rejoice... delightful!' Woman's World magazine

'A spectacular story! I fell in love with it' Elle Croft

'Hope can sometimes be just enough'

It's only a few months since the war ended but the little village of Chawton is about to be hit by another devastating blow. The heart of the community and site of Jane Austen's cherished former home, Chawton estate is in danger of being sold to the highest bidder.

Eight villagers are brought together by their love for the famous author's novels, to create The Jane Austen Society. As new friendships form and the pain of the past begins to heal, surely they can find a way to preserve Austen's legacy before it is too late?

And there may even be a few unexpected surprises along the way...

A heartbreaking and uplifting novel of hope, loss and love. Perfect for fans of Miss Austen by Gill Hornby and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer.

Readers are falling in love with The Jane Austen Society:

'A wonderful book, a wonderful read' Karen Joy Fowler

'Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society. A charming and memorable debut' Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

'An extremely impressive debut novel populated with fully-developed, nuanced characters that resonate' Mark Sullivan, bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet Sky

'I can't remember the last time I was so utterly charmed by a novel . . .' Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of Comfort

'Joyous . . . Natalie Jenner casts a spell that will have you falling in love with each of her lovingly-drawn characters' Kim van Alkemade, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan 8

'A charming yet bittersweet tale about the power of literature - the beloved Jane Austen in particular - to heal and elevate the human spirit' Marie Benedict, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409194101
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 522 g
Dimensions: 240 x 160 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society. A charming and memorable debut -- Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris
An extremely impressive debut novel populated with fully-developed, nuanced characters that resonate -- Mark Sullivan, bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet Sky
Sweet, smart escapism * People Magazine *
I can't remember the last time I was so utterly charmed by a novel . . . A celebration of the human spirit and the power of stories -- Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of Comfort
Joyous . . . Natalie Jenner casts a spell that will have you falling in love with each of her lovingly-drawn characters -- Kim van Alkemade, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan 8
A charming yet bittersweet tale about the power of literature - the beloved Jane Austen in particular - to heal and elevate the human spirit -- Marie Benedict, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room
Fans of Pride and Prejudice will rejoice over this charming debut novel centred around legendary author Jane Austen * Woman's World Magazine *
Just like a story written by Austen herself, Jenner's first novel is brimming with charming moments, endearing characters and nuanced relationships * Booklist (starred review) *
An intensely moving and thought-provoking story...one of those marvellous novels that make you laugh out loud one minute, sob the next, and whoop with delight * Jane Austen's Regency World Magazine *
Uplifting and warm, the characters and charming setting can't fail to bring a smile to your face * Woman *

You may also be interested in...

Azincourt
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
London
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Silver Pigs
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket

“A book that Jane Austen herself might have loved.”

If, like me, you are a fan of Jane Austen and the 19th Century novel, then you will love The Jane Austen Society. I had no idea what to expect from this book, set in Chawton, shortly after the end of the Second World... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7
TripFiction

“Novel set in CHAWTON, Hampshire (one for fans of Jane Austen!)”

4.5*
I listened to this on audio and revelled in the dulcet tones of actor Richard Armitage.

The author has brought together a delightful assemblage of characters, from all kinds of backgrounds, all worthy of a Jane... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“There are struggles a-plenty, moral dilemmas, a big reveal, just desserts and some happy ever afters.”

The Jane Austen Society’ is a tale which aptly mirrors the sort of patterning that we expect from a Jane Austen novel. A fictitious telling of the origin of the Jane Austen Society, the story is based in Chawton and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.