Nurse Kitty's Secret War: A novel inspired by the brave nurses and doctors from the first NHS hospital (Paperback)
  • Nurse Kitty's Secret War: A novel inspired by the brave nurses and doctors from the first NHS hospital (Paperback)
zoom

Nurse Kitty's Secret War: A novel inspired by the brave nurses and doctors from the first NHS hospital (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 10/12/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A novel inspired by the brave nurses and doctors from the first NHS hospital, the Trafford General, opened after the end of World War II. An inspiring and romantic read for fans of Call the Midwife and The Nightingale Girls.

It's May 1945 and at 3pm, nurse Kitty Longthorne listens, together with the other surgical staff at South Manchester's Park Hospital, to Winston Churchill's broadcast on the radio. Germany has signed a declaration of complete surrender. The war is over in Europe and that day is to be celebrated as VE Day.

The mood in Park Hospital - still full of wounded American soldiers - is jubilant and hopeful, though Kitty is anything but. Her clandestine squeeze and the man she hopes to marry, James Williams has been giving her the cold shoulder for the last week, and she can't work out why. Furthermore, her twin brother, Ned, is still missing in action - his last known whereabouts point to him being in a Japanese prisoner of war camp.

An uplifting, heart-wrenching novel based on the true story of the first ever NHS hospital, for fans of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell.

Praise for NURSE KITTY'S SECRET WAR

A galloping read that conjures up life in a late 1940s hospital, complete with fierce matrons and handsome doctors. Nurse Kitty is a feisty heroine who sticks her neck out to protect her patients, while trying to resolve her own family problems and heal her broken heart. It's engaging and atmospheric. - Gill Paul

I'm sure readers will love Nurse Kitty as she struggles to find true love when everything is going against it. I loved the end-of-WW2 setting, which is vividly imagined, and the sheer energy of Maggie Campbell's pacy prose. A perfect escapist read. - Kitty Danton, author of A Wartime Wish

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409191773
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A galloping read that conjures up life in a late 1940s hospital, complete with fierce matrons and handsome doctors. Nurse Kitty is a feisty heroine who sticks her neck out to protect her patients, while trying to resolve her own family problems and heal her broken heart. It's engaging and atmospheric. - Gill Paul

I'm sure readers will love Nurse Kitty as she struggles to find true love when everything is going against it. I loved the end-of-WW2 setting, which is vividly imagined, and the sheer energy of Maggie Campbell's pacy prose. A perfect escapist read. - Kitty Danton, author of A Wartime Wish

You may also be interested in...

The Black Moon
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Jeremy Poldark
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dilly's Lass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
The Valley of Horses
Added to basket
The Lady's Maid
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Miller's Dance
Added to basket
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
A Woman of Substance
Added to basket
Demelza
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Angry Tide
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Njal's Saga
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Miss Buncle Married
Added to basket
The Mammoth Hunters
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

“3.5 stars rounded up to 4”

Kitty Longthorne is a nurse at Park Hall hospital in Manchester at the end of WWII. Her twin brother Ned is still a prisoner of war in Japan. Her father is in prison. Her mother works in a factory. Kitty tries to keep... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Interesting story of a period rarely featuring in novels”

I am quite a fan of books set around World War 11 & also nursing so I was pleased to get a copy of this one. Unlike most books of the period it is actually set just as the war ends & the years that follow.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: