The Whispers of War (Paperback)
  • The Whispers of War (Paperback)
zoom

The Whispers of War (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 03/09/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

August, 1939, Britain watches the headlines in fear of another devastating war with Germany and three women must choose between friendship or country.

Socialite Nora is determined to find her place in the Home Office's Air Raid Precautions Department, while matchmaker, Hazel, tries to mask two closely guarded secrets with irrepressible optimism, and German ex-pat Marie worries that she and her family might face imprisonment in an internment camp if war is declared.

When Germany invades Poland and tensions on the home front rise, Marie is labelled an enemy alien, and the three friends find themselves fighting together to keep her free at any cost.

The Whispers of War is a moving and unforgettable tale of the power and strength of friendship in a time of conflict. Perfect for fans of Lilac Girls, A Woman of War and The Secret Orphan.

Praise for Julia Kelly:

'A heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning' Washington Post

'Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls' Kirkus Review

'Kelly weaves an intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense' Publishers Weekly

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409189473
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Sweeping, stirring, and heartrending in all the best ways, this tale of one of WWII's courageous, colorful, and enigmatic Gunner Girls will take your breath away.

Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls.

It is a heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning. Julia Kelly weaves a tender romantic story around a girl who fights war showing how strong even tender, romantic women can be. With a bit of mystery in the story, even mystery-readers will like it. - Washington Post

You may also be interested in...

The Other Bennet Sister
Added to basket
A Beautiful Spy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Missing Sister
Added to basket
Afterlives
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Shadow Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Nightingale
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Royal
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The River Between Us
Added to basket
Bridgerton: The Duke and I (Bridgertons Book 1)
Added to basket
The Sun Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Winter Wedding
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Mercies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Alchemy and Rose
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Pull of the Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Viscount Who Loved Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Guest novel”

I really enjoyed this historical novel set during World War II.

This story had alternating narratives. Samantha was in the present, where her grandmother has just died. She travels to London to meet her grandmother’s... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Something magical and solid”

"The Whispers of War" is one of those rare, truly beautiful books. The writing, the characters, the story... they combine to make something magical and solid. I care about these characters like they're... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.