The Light Over London (Hardback)
  • The Light Over London (Hardback)
zoom

The Light Over London (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£19.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 07/02/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country

2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...

1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.

Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...

Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.

Praise for The Light Over London

'a heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning.' Washington Post

'Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls.' Kirkus Review

'Kelly weaves an intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense.' Publishers Weekly

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409189367
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 520 g
Dimensions: 240 x 160 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Sweeping, stirring, and heartrending in all the best ways, this tale of one of WWII's courageous, colorful, and enigmatic Gunner Girls will take your breath away.

Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel... A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls.

It is a heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning. Julia Kelly weaves a tender romantic story around a girl who fights war showing how strong even tender, romantic women can be. With a bit of mystery in the story, even mystery-readers will like it. - Washington Post

You may also be interested in...

Love in the Time of Cholera
Added to basket
Maybe Someday
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Losing Hope
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
This Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
After We Collided
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Did I Mention I Love You?
Added to basket
Fire After Dark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ugly Love
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Bridges Of Madison County
Added to basket
After Ever Happy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bared to You
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Possession
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Daughter's a Daughter
Added to basket
After We Fell
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Birdsong
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Perfect blend of history and fiction, with elements of romance, subterfuge, mystery,adventure and feminism”

his has become one of my favorite reads of the year. The story has the perfect blend of history and fiction, with elements of romance, subterfuge, mystery,adventure and feminism. The story centers on the lives of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.