Something to Live For (Hardback)
  • Something to Live For (Hardback)
zoom

Something to Live For (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 27/06/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Check availability At your local shop

Sometimes you have to risk everything to find your something...

All Andrew wants is to be normal. He has the perfect wife and 2.4 children waiting at home for him after a long day. At least, that's what he's told people.

The truth is, his life isn't exactly as people think and his little white lie is about to catch up with him.

Because in all Andrew's efforts to fit in, he's forgotten one important thing: how to really live. And maybe, it's about time for him to start.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409185598
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 540 g
Dimensions: 226 x 158 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Funny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this.' - Clare Mackintosh 

'Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut.' - Gill Hornby 

'The story Roper tells is a charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem.' - Rebecca Thomas, BBC News Online, Best Fiction of 2019 

'Tender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge!' - Lucy Foley, author of The Hunting Party

'Just finished Something To Live For with tears running down my cheeks. Heart-breaking. Hilarious. Life-affirming. Some descriptions of loneliness took my breath away. This book deserves to be HUGE.' - Holly Bourne 

'Funny, moving and uplifting... I loved it.' - Libby Page, author of The Lido

'Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.' - Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters 

Closing 26/06/2019

Win an unforgettable fine dining trip on the Northern Belle.

You may also be interested in...

Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Big Sky
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Stalingrad
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Machines Like Me
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Secret Service
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Joe Country
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Queenie
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Cari Mora
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
King of Kings
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
City of Girls
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
10 Minutes 38 Seconds in this Strange World
Added to basket
The Binding
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Half a World Away
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Frankissstein
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
The Porpoise
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The House by the Loch
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Shadowplay
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Butterfly Room
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback

“Glorious turns of phrase”

Something to Live For is on course to be one of the books of the year and it's definitely going to be on my books of the year list. It's absolutely superb in every way.

Andrew has a very unique job, one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.