Would Like to Meet (Paperback)
  • Would Like to Meet (Paperback)
zoom

Would Like to Meet (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 30/04/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Funny, fresh and heart-warming' Stella Newman

'Smart, self-aware, and properly funny' Richard Roper

'A dream of a rom-com!' Holly Miller


Can you fall in love like they do in the movies?


It's Evie Summers' job to find out. Because if she can't convince her film agency's biggest client, Ezra Chester, to write the romantic comedy script he owes producers, her career will be over. The catch? He thinks rom-coms are unrealistic - and he'll only put pen to paper if Evie shows him that it's possible to meet someone in real life the way it happens on the big screen.

Cynical Evie might not believe in happily ever after, but she'll do what it takes to save the job that's been her lifeline . . . even if it means recreating iconic rom-com scenes in public. Spilling orange juice on a cute stranger? No problem. Leaving her number in books all over London to see who calls? Done. With a little help from her friends - and the father-daughter duo who witness her humiliations - Evie is determined to prove she can meet a man the way Sally met Harry. But can a workaholic who's given up on love find a meet-cute of her very own?

Perfect for fans of The Flatshare, Beach Read and If I Never Met You, Would Like to Meet is a love story for hopeless romantics everywhere.

'A fresh and funny romcom with all the magic of the movies' Anna Bell

'Winters's charming debut combines tropes from classic romantic comedy films to hilarious effect' Publishers Weekly

'Relive your favourite rom-com movie moments in this charming and delightful meet-cute novel' Erin Reinelt

'A writer who's one to watch' Sarra Manning

'This is the perfect romcom, sharp and clever and so funny!' Michele Gorman

'The references to classic films of the genre will delight rom-com fans, as will the sweet romance. The best scenes, though, are with Evie and her three best friends, who have the warmly mocking dynamic of friends in a Richard Curtis film. A lovely, humorous ode to romantic comedies' Kirkus Reviews

'Winters employs self-aware, genre-savvy characters to expertly balance humour and heart' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409184911
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Funny, fresh and heart-warming - a book to fall in love with -- Stella Newman
I completely loved it. Smart, self-aware, and properly funny. I was cheering Evie on from page one. -- Richard Roper
A fresh and funny romcom with all the magic of the movies. Would like to read more! -- Anna Bell
This was a dream of a rom-com! A delightful summer read that had me revelling in the meet-cutes and rooting for a happy-ever-after. Touching and smart, with a cast of warm, funny characters I completely fell for. -- Holly Miller
Winters's charming debut combines tropes from classic romantic comedy films to hilarious effect. * Publishers Weekly *
Relive your favourite rom-com movie moments in this charming and delightful meet-cute novel -- Erin Reinelt
a writer who's one to watch * Sarra Manning *
This is The Perfect romcom, sharp and clever and so funny! * Michele Gorman *
Packed full of laughs, this is perfect for romcom addicts. * My Weekly *
The perfect romance. A relaxing read for the warmer months. * Woman *
the perfect feelgood read * Red Magazine *
With laugh-out-loud moments and a lot of heart, it's a delightful summer read -- Zoe West * Woman & Home *

You may also be interested in...

Oh William!
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
No Longer Human
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Very funny British rom-com with great characters”

This was a very enjoyable British rom-com story set around the 'meet-cute' premise. I love the term meet-cute, the first time I'd heard it was in the film The Holiday, so a book set around it sounded... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

“A great pick me up tonic of a read”

I read the synopsis for 'Would Like To Meet' and it certainly sounded like just the kind of read I desperately needed. I was stressing over various things and in need of a distraction that would take me... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15
Whispering Stories

“The book has an air of Bridget Jones to it”

Evie Summers works as an assistant at a film agency. She has been there for seven years and never promoted, yet she feels like she has a responsibility to her elderly boss Monty to keep the place running as smoothly... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.