Only a Mother (Paperback)
  • Only a Mother (Paperback)
zoom

Only a Mother (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 27/12/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Waterstones Says

Original and psychologically astute, Carpenter’s novel is told from the point of view of a convicted killer’s mother and asks searching questions of how far a mother’s love can stretch and how much she is prepared to do to protect her son.

ONLY A MOTHER . . .

Erica Wright hasn't needed to scrub 'MURDERER' off her house in over a year. Life is almost quiet again. Then her son, Craig, is released from prison, and she knows the quiet is going to be broken.

COULD BELIEVE HIM . . .

Erica has always believed Craig was innocent - despite the lies she told for him years ago - but when he arrives home, she notices the changes in him. She doesn't recognise her son anymore.

COULD LIE FOR HIM . . .

So, when another girl goes missing, she starts to question everything. But how can a mother turn her back on her son? And, if she won't, then how far will she go to protect him?

COULD BURY THE TRUTH

Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Louise Jensen, Katerina Diamond, Helen Fields and CL Taylor - a hard-hitting psychological thriller told from the fresh perspective of a killer's mother.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409181477
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 244 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Only A Mother is brilliantly observed, both tender and heart-breaking, without once flinching from harsh realities. Taking on a traumatic subject, combining realism with drama, is an incredibly difficult task but Carpenter handles it with breath-taking skill. Highly recommended, this is exactly the subject matter that book clubs have been waiting for' - Helen Fields

'A refreshing move forward from the sometimes exhausting twists and turns of some psychological thrillers, Only a Mother is nevertheless a real rollercoaster of a read, with an emotionally resonant ending that left me both moved and humbled by the strength of a mother's love. I couldn't put this book down' - Charlotte Duckworth author of The Rival

'Tense, shocking and terrifyingly believable. Only A Mother turns the psychological thriller on its head, coming at the genre from a wholly original angle. The writing is sharp; the characters complex and compelling; the story skillfully plotted. A fantastic read.' - Rebecca Tinnelly, author of Never Go There

'An unsettling, consistently compelling thriller with a terrific sense of foreboding.' - B.P Walter, author of A Version of the Truth

'Elisabeth Carpenter skilfully portrays a mother's love with unflinching honesty and tenderness. But is it misplaced? I recommend reading this tense and compelling thriller to find out.' - Caroline England, author of My Husband's Lies

'An unsettling domestic psychological thriller ... Tense and heartbreaking' - The i newspaper

'Only A Mother is a deeply moving, compelling story with strong, relatable characters that leap from the page in true Carpenter style.' - Sam Carrington, author of One Little Lie

'Totally gripping from start to finish. Observational. Intelligent. Beautifully constructed plot.' -Amanda Robson

You may also be interested in...

Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sanatorium
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sixteen Horses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bad Actors
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
The Passenger & Stella Maris: Boxed Set
Added to basket
Magpie
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.