The Testaments out now
If Only I Could Tell You (Paperback)
  • If Only I Could Tell You (Paperback)
zoom

If Only I Could Tell You (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99 £5.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 22/08/2019
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A poignant, heartbreaking novel ideal for fans of Jojo Moyes and Marian Keyes, If Only I Could Tell You details the trials and tribulations of Audrey and her family; estranged and divided by a bitter, long-held secret and a life-changing choice made thirty years previously.

Audrey's family has fallen apart. Her two grown-up daughters, Jess and Lily, are estranged, and her two teenage granddaughters have never been allowed to meet. A secret that echoes back thirty years has splintered the family in two, but is also the one thing keeping them connected.

As tensions reach breaking point, the irrevocable choice that one of them made all those years ago is about to surface. After years of secrets and silence, how can one broken family find their way back to each other?

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409177326
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 256 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A must-read. An absorbing tale of long-buried family secrets, grief and guilt with a midpoint twist that changes everything.' - Sunday Express Magazine

'Tender, heartbreaking and utterly beautiful.' - Psychologies

'Life-affirming.' - Red

'Hot reads: If Only I Could Tell You really tugs the heartstrings.' - Good Housekeeping

'A tender story that will have you reaching for tissues.' - PRIMA

'Tense, moving and tender.' - Sun on Sunday

'A powerful novel about grief, guilt and...secrets.' - Sunday Express

'A compelling yet tender tale.' - Woman & Home

'A tender story.' - Sunday Mirror

'Emotionally-charged and superbly crafted . . . For all its emotional intensity and heartbreaking themes, Beckerman's compelling, compassionate novel delivers ultimately life-affirming and uplifting messages with eloquence, elegance and an acute understanding of the delicate but unbreakable bonds of family.' - Lancashire Post

'A tender and heartbreaking second novel.' -Daily Mail

'I loved it.' - Jojo Moyes 

'A beautiful tale... Heartbreaking and uplifting.' - Ruth Jones

'Utterly compelling and completely heart-breaking.' - Ruth Hogan

'A tender portrait of family lives, losses and secrets.' - Clare Mackintosh

'Wonderful . . . I loved it to bits.' - Joanna Cannon

You may also be interested in...

Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tombland
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Mythos
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heroes
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silence of the Girls
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Wall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Reckoning
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Librarian of Auschwitz
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“The story of untold truths.....”

First of all, I have to say that this story played havoc with my feelings. I rarely felt so emotional and tearful reading anything before.
Audrey has got two daughters who don’t talk to each other, and two... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

“Makes you realise that life really is too short!”

I have a bit of a guilty pleasure for family secret type novels but I was not expecting the rollercoaster of emotions I would endure throughout this book...

Two sisters, estranged for many years due to a deep family... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“The secrets families keep hidden”

I was drawn to read this book because it has a family at the core of its story. A mother, her daughters and their daughters. But their family has secrets that have stayed secrets for decades and it all comes to the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.