The Wrong Child (Paperback)
  • The Wrong Child (Paperback)
zoom

The Wrong Child (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 06/09/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

What if your child committed murder?
When tragedy strikes in a small Scottish village, everyone in the community is affected.

Most people believe one child is to blame for what happened.

But could a young boy really be responsible? And what lengths will his parents go to protect him?

THE WRONG CHILD is the most thought-provoking novel of 2018, perfect for fans of WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN by Lionel Shriver and MY ABSOLUTE DARLING by Gabriel Tallent.

****************

READERS ARE CALLING THE WRONG CHILD 'UNFORGETTABLE':

'Amazing' - Amazon 5* review

'A great page-turner!' Amazon 5* review

'Hopefully it will receive the wider audience it so richly deserves' - Amazon 5* review

'Challenges your notions and ideals of morality' - Amazon review

'Will stick with you long after you finish it!' Amazon review

****************

What the critics are saying about THE WRONG CHILD:

'A thought-provoking read' - THE SUN

'Genuinely gripping' - THE HERALD

'A study of guilt and grief' - DAILY MAIL

'Brilliant, but dark as hell' - METRO

'Astonishing' - PSYCHOLOGIES

'So visceral it seeps into your pores' - DAILY RECORD

'Stunning. Macabre, unsettling and beautifully poetic' - BRIAN CONAGHAN, Costa Award winning author

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409171829
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 201 x 179 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Reviews of the most thought-provoking thriller of the year, for fans of WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN by Lionel Shriver, BIG LITTLE LIES by Liane Moriarty and MY ABSOLUTE DARLING by Gabriel Tallent:

'Brilliant, but as dark as hell. The British version of Daniel Woodrell'

* METRO *
A very thought-provoking read * THE SUN *
God, this is dark. A study of guilt and grief * DAILY MAIL *
A deeply unsettling tale of loss, abandonment and revenge * THE LIST *
[Gornell's] admirable single-mindedness and cool nerve are allied to a highly developed prose style which effectively conjures up a mood of darkness, intense cold and moral ambiguity - one in which nature itself feels complicit in the actions of the people. It is genuinely gripping * THE HERALD *
The Wrong Child is a startling and uncompromising story of grief and anger, of abandonment and decay. It's intense - darker than dark - but also original and beautiful * HELEN FITZGERALD, author of Viral, Dead Lovely and The Cry *
[An] uncompromising story of grief, anger, abandonment and decay * SCOTS MAGAZINE *
Stunning. Macabre, unsettling and beautifully poetic * BRIAN CONAGHAN, Costa Award winning author of THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER *

You may also be interested in...

Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
You and Me on Vacation
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Transient Desires
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Unsettling but great read”

Wow this was a unsettling read! But I loved it, what a fantastic book.

The story follows the families of twenty-two children who live in a rural village. A disaster claimed the life of twenty-one of the children.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Absolutely outstanding! One of my favourites of 2017.”

Oh. My. Gosh.  Oh. My. Flipping. Gosh!  I recently read a book which totally blew me away and surpassed every other read to make it to the number one spot on my 'books of the year' list.  Little did I expect... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.